Glory seals record points tally with victory in Adelaide


A rousing 2-0 victory against Adelaide United has sealed Perth Glory’s highest-ever number of points in the Hyundai A-League.


A deflected Diego Castro strike ten minutes before half time and Andy Keogh’s composed finish midway through the second half was enough to see off the fifth-placed South Australians who struggled to create chances despite dominance of possession.

The victory, their 15th of the season and seventh on the road, moved Tony Popovic’s men nine points clear at the top of the ladder ahead of the weekend’s other games.


Despite the Reds holding the early stranglehold on possession, it was Castro who made the breakthrough in the 35th minute as his low strike deflected off the shins of Adelaide defender Scott Galloway, wrong-footed Paul Izzo and trickled into the net.

Glory almost made it two when Ivan Franjic’s cross presented a golden chance for Joel Chianese, but a superb, one-handed parry by Izzo kept the striker’s header out of the goal and ensured that the visitors would lead by just the solitary goal heading into the break.

The second half began in similar fashion as Glory continued to create the lion’s share of the opportunities. Chris Ikonomidis’ early header drifted wide of the far post and ten minutes later, the winger’s curling strike from the edge of the box was gathered with some discomfort by Izzo.

Ultimately, however, it was substitute Andy Keogh who doubled the score.

Capitalising upon a mistake by Reds captain Isaias, the Irishman strode from the halfway line towards goal and coolly placed his effort around the sprawling Izzo.

Keogh’s strike was his 13th of the campaign, equaling Shane Smeltz and Diego Castro’s Hyundai A-League record for goals from a Glory player in a single season.

And only a fine block from Izzo prevented the 32-year-old from setting a new record right at the death.

Next up for Glory is a blockbuster clash with Melbourne Victory at HBF Park on Saturday the 30th of March.

Secure your tickets online on Ticketmaster by clicking HERE

Alternatively, you can save at the gate with a 3-game package covering the last trio of matches this season.
Starting from $90 per adult, see our different packages HERE.

Match Details

Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season Round 22

Adelaide United 0 Perth Glory 2 (Castro 35’, Keogh 69’)

Half-time: 0-1

Referee: Peter Green

Coopers Stadium, Adelaide

Adelaide United: 20. Paul IZZO (GK), 2. Michael MARRONE, 3. Scott GALLOWAY, 4. Ryan STRAIN, 7. Ryan KITTO, 8. ISAIAS, 11. Craig GOODWIN, 16. Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS (17. Nikola MILEUSNIC 46’), 19. Jordy THOMASSEN (10. Ken ILSO 62’), 22. Michael JAKOBSEN, 31. Mirko BOLAND

Substitutes not used: 6. Vincent LIA, 30. Isaac RICHARDS (GK), 32. Carlo ARMIENTO

Yellow Cards: Boland 79’, Goodwin 84’

Red Cards: Nil

Perth Glory: 33. Liam REDDY (GK), 3. Jason DAVIDSON, 4. Shane LOWRY, 5. Ivan FRANJIC (9. Andy KEOGH 65’), 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Joel CHIANESE, 17. Diego CASTRO (22. Fabio FERREIRA 87’), 19. Chris IKONOMIDIS, 23. Scott NEVILLE, 27. JUANDE, 88. Neil KILKENNY

Substitutes not used: 1. Tando VELAPHI (GK), 16. Tomislav MRCELA, 29. Kristian POPOVIC

Yellow Cards: Chianese 21’, Davidson 41’

Red Cards: Nil