Glory to take on WA State Team in Heritage Cup


The WA State Team will host Perth Glory in the inaugural Heritage Cup in a celebration of football’s great history at Inglewood Stadium on August 17.

In WA’s 120th year of league football – and as Glory celebrates two decades since its first steps in Australia’s national competition – some of the best players from the PS4 National Premier League WA will combine to take on the Hyundai A-League side.

Bayswater City coach Chris Coyne has been appointed to lead the WA State team. The squad will be selected subject to player availability.

Football West Chief Executive James Curtis was grateful to clubs for embracing the WA State team concept and supporting the match against Glory.

“I’m delighted that clubs see the great value in this match and have been supportive of an opportunity for some of the most talented players from the PS4 NPLWA to take on Perth Glory,” Curtis said.

“It’s fitting that the WA State team takes on Glory in such an important year for the code. I hope that all fans of football will come out in support of their local club and Glory, as the state’s Hyundai A-League representative.

“I would also like to thank Glory Chief Executive Peter Filopoulos and his team for working with Football West in bringing the Heritage Cup to fruition.”

The WA State team’s first match was against a visiting England cricket XI in 1902, while its initial encounter against Glory was in 1996 as the club warmed up for its inaugural National Soccer League season.

Glory and WA have played 12 times, including an incredible match in 2011 when the A-League side won 9-4. WA registered its first win in 2014 when Alec Solomons and Ludo Boi scored in a 2-1 victory.

Glory Chief Executive Peter Filopoulos said the match was an ideal opportunity for WA football supporters to come together and celebrate many milestones in the sport’s history.

“This is an important date in our football calendar and for the people of Perth. This will be the first time our supporters will able to see many of WA’s favourite sons in action for Glory,” he said.

“I would like to thank all the staff at Football West for their efforts and urge all football fans to support this match. We hope in the years to come this match will generate a strong rivalry between the two teams.” 

Glory merchandise and membership cards will be available for purchase at the ground.

The club has a strong contingent of WA players including Socceroos Rhys Williams and Adam Taggart, as well as Rostyn Griffiths, who has re-joined the club after playing in the Netherlands for Roda JC Kerkrade.

Glory have just completed a successful pre-season trip to the Philippines and take on Brisbane Roar in the Westfield FFA Cup RD 32 match away to Brisbane Roar on August 10.

Entry to the Heritage Cup match is $15 with Glory members entitled to a $5 discount on presenting their 2016-17 membership card. Registered Football West players will also receive a $5 discount by quoting their club name at the gate.

Fans are urged to arrive early to avoid queues as tickets are only available at the gate.

What: Heritage Cup

Who: WA State team v Perth Glory

When: August 17

Time: 7pm kick off

Where: Inglewood Stadium, Hamer Parade, Inglewood