Glory star scoops major award


Perth Glory is delighted to confirm that FFA and NAB have today announced Chris Ikonomidis as the October/November nominee for the Hyundai A-League, NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award.

Since arriving during the off-season, Chris has featured in all five matches of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season so far, scoring four goals and has played a key role in Glory establishing a four-point lead at the top of the table.

The NAB Young Footballer of the Year will be announced at the Dolan Warren Awards Ceremony next year and the 23-year-old is understandably thrilled to have received the nomination.

“It’s a huge honour and I’d like to thank Perth Glory for bringing me in and giving me the opportunity to play good football,” he said.

“My thanks go to the coaching staff and my teammates and I’d also like to thank my parents for supporting me throughout my career and express my gratitude to FFA and NAB.”

NAB’s Head of Media & Partnerships, Thomas Dobson, meanwhile, said he is proud to see the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award continue to identify and reward outstanding achievement of talented young footballers.

“We congratulate Chris on his nomination and look forward to watching his development and growth on the football field in the years to come,” said Dobson.

“We are also pleased to recognise Chris’ nominated junior club, Sutherland Sharks, and hope that our support will help the club to continue developing the game in communities across Australia.”

“Chris’ nominated junior club will receive a NAB Club Recognition Award, which includes a range of equipment along with $1,000.

The overall winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year 2018/19 Award will receive a $10,000 personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking products and services.

“As a supporter of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year program, we are proud to play an important role in identifying and rewarding the future stars of the game,” concluded Dobson.

Each month representatives from the FFA Technical Department vote on a 3-2-1 basis for the most outstanding U-23 players in the Hyundai A-League during that period.