Glory slip to unfortunate defeat against Macarthur

A second-half header from Bachana Arabuli consigned Glory to an unfortunate 1-0 defeat against Macarthur FC in Sunday’s Round 8 clash at Campbelltown Stadium.

Click HERE to view the match highlights.

Glory went close on a number of occasions, notably through Ryan Williams and David Williams, with the latter drawing an outstanding, fingertip save from Filip Kurto on the cusp of half time.

But they were ultimately unable to find a way through a resolute home defence and instead were undone in the 71st minute when Al Hassan Toure’s deep cross was nodded home by Georgian international Arabuli.

The result was undeniably harsh on the men in purple and Head Coach Ruben Zadkovich certainly felt that his side should not have left Sydney’s south west empty handed.

Click HERE to view his full post-match media conference.

“It’s was frustrating not to get something from that game based purely on the positive football we played and the chances we created but didn’t take,” he said.

“But there were some positives there and some progress.

“The players are honest; they understand that we threw away points today.

“Dwight Yorke [Macarthur FC Head Coach] summed it up when he said ‘we might have stolen one from you there’.

“The better team lost the game; it’s clear.

“At the end of the day, it comes down to taking those chances we should score.”

After a cagey opening, it was Glory who created the first meaningful chance of the game, Ryan Williams firing over the bar from close range after Keegan Jelacic had shown great persistence to reach the byline and deliver a low cross.

Jelacic himself was then just unable to get a meaningful contact on a delightful cross from Salim Khelifi, before David Williams sent in a fizzing strike which Filip Kurto did superbly well to keep out.

An acrobatic volley on the hour-mark was David Williams’ next effort on goal and at that stage, Glory looked destined to find a way through and potentially push on to secure a first ever A-League win over the Bulls.

But instead it was Yorke’s men who struck through Arabuli with 20 minutes left and while the visitors piled on the pressure in the latter stages, the Bulls defended deep and in numbers to keep they at bay.

Match Details

ISUZU UTE A-League 2022/23 Season Round 8

Macarthur FC 1 (Arabuli 71′) Perth Glory 0

Half-time: 0-0

Campbelltown Stadium

Referee: Tim Danaskos

Macarthur FC: 12..Filip KURTO (gk), 5.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, 6.Tomi USKOK, 7.Daniel DE SILVA, 9.Bachana ARABULI (94.Anthony CARTER 80′), 10.Ulises DAVILA (24.Charles M’MOMBWA 87′), 11.Kearyn BACCUS (27.Jerry SKOTADIS 72′), 13.Ivan VUJICA, 35.Al Hassan TOURE, 44.Matt MILLAR, 99.Daniel ARZANI (37.Jed DREW 72′)

Substitutes not used: 2.Jake McGING, 8.Jake HOLLMAN, 1.Nick SUMAN (gk)

Yellow Cards: Uskok, Baccus

Red Cards: None

Perth Glory: 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 5.Mark BEEVERS, 6.Aaron MCENEFF, 7.Ryan WILLIAMS, 8.Mustafa AMINI (c) (19.Zach DUNCAN 72′), 10.Salim KHELIFI (11.Ben AZUBEL 76′), 14.Jack CLISBY, 16.Keegan JELACIC (28.Trent OSTLER 82′), 18.David WILLIAMS, 29.Darryl LACHMAN, 37.Jacob MUIR (2.John KOUTROUMBIS 82′)

Substitutes not used: 13.Cameron COOK (gk), 36.Joseph FORDE

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None