A depleted Perth Glory side picked up a massive three points in a pulsating match with Wellington Phoenix which ended 4-2.

A depleted Perth Glory side picked up a massive three points in a pulsating match with Wellington Phoenix which ended 4-2.

The home side-s top performer was Sidnei Sciola, who scored two goals and was a constant threat to the Phoenix defence but the true stars of the night were youngsters Jack Clisby, Danny De Silva and Riley Woodcock as they produced performances far beyond their years.

Glory Head Coach Alistair Edwards was delighted with the performance and praised Wellington Phoenix for contributing to the match.

“What a game. Wellington Phoenix were really good as they came to try and get a result. I really enjoyed the first half an hour of the game, didn-t enjoy the next 30 minutes of it but then the last half an hour was very pleasing. The game was a real roller coaster and the crowd was fantastic. They really got behind the team after Thwaite-s goal and really were the 12th man tonight”.

Glory started the game with an incredibly quick tempo and swift moves resulted in both Jamie Maclaren and Danny De Silva having shots on target but Phoenix goalkeeper Glenn Moss comfortably dealt with those efforts.

Moss may have thwarted those strikes but he was powerless to halt Sidnei-s stunning long-range shot which gave the home side a well-deserved lead.

The Perth side continued to build on their momentum and almost doubled their lead minutes later but De Silva was unable to properly connect with the volley and the ball went by the post.

Glory showed no sign of stopping and Chris Harold forced a great save from Moss with the home side mounting the pressure on the Phoenix goal.

The away side finally ventured into Danny Vukovic-s box but he comfortably dealt with an effort from Paul Ifill.

The pattern of the game was turning in favour of Wellington and they equalized with a smart left-footed strike from Stein Huysegems.

The goal seemed to take the wind out of Glory-s sails and Phoenix almost scored a second but Ifill-s effort went inches by the post.

HALF-TIME: Perth Glory 1-1 Wellington Phoenix

The second-half did not begin well for the Glory as Wellington Phoenix took the lead from a short corner which was delivered to Ifill in the box and he nodded the ball in off the post.

The home side fought back however and Sidnei was very unlucky not to score his and Glory-s second as Moss saved his effort onto the post.

The Perth side did not have to wait long for an equalizer as Michael Thwaite scored a powerful header on the hour mark from a free-kick delivered by Sidnei.

It was evident to see that the goal galvanised Glory and the home crowd though that substitute Adrian Zahra had given them the lead but his effort hit the side-netting.

Zahra didn-t have to ponder on that missed opportunity for too long though as he scored Perth Glory-s third. A dazzling run from Stevie McGarry through the middle of the pitch gave Zahra the chance to slot home and he did so with an impressive elaborate celebration to match.

The home side could have sat back and defended their lead in the final minutes of the game but Glory went for the fourth and they achieved that with a goal from man of the match Sidnei. His strike may not have been impressive as the first with Moss letting the ball squirm through his body but it was a crucial goal that gave a young Perth Glory side a crucial and well-deserved victory.

Hyundai A-League 2013-2014 Season – Week 9
Perth Glory 4-2 Wellington Phoenix (Half-time 1-1)
nib Stadium
Friday 6th December 2013
Attendance: 8232
Referee: Matthew Gillett

Perth Glory Squad: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 2.Jack CLISBY, 4.Ryan EDWARDS (11. Adrian ZAHRA 59-), 10.Jamie MACLAREN (22. Ndumba MAKECHE 59-), 14.Steven McGARRY, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES, 17. Chris HAROLD, 20. Danny DE SILVA, 6.Cameron EDWARDS 46-) 23.Michael THWAITE, 24.Matthew DAVIES, 25. Riley WOODCOCK

Subs not used: 18.Jack DUNCAN (GK), 3.Brandon O-NEILL,
Goals: 16. Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES (15-, 90-) 23. Michael THWAITE (60-) 11. Adrian Zahra (82-)

Wellington Phoenix Squad: 1.Glen Moss (GK), 3. Reece Caira, 8. Paul Ifill (15. Jason Hicks 71-), 9. Kenny Cunningham (7. Leo Bertos 78-), 10. Stein Huysegems, 11. Jeremy Brockie, 13. Albert Riera (23. Matthew Ridenton 73-), 16. Louis Fenton, 17. Vince Lia, 18. Ben Sigmund, 22. Andrew Durante (capt),

Subs not used: 20. Lewis Italiano (GK), 5. Michael Boxall
Goals: 10. Stein Huysegems (36-) 8. Paul Ifill (49-)

Thomas Blane