Glory Set To Fire Past Phoenix


Perth Glory FC head to New Zealand for their opening Hyundai A-League match against Wellington this weekend high on confidence, on the back of an undefeated record against the Phoenix last season.

Also in Glory’s favour, is the fact they’ve only lost one season opener in the past four Hyundai A-League campaigns.

New recruits Youssouf Hersi, Richard Garcia, Dino Djulbic, Mitch Nichols and mercurial striker Andy Keogh are likely to start against the New Zealand outfit, while new signing Diogo Ferreira is expected to feature from the bench.

Fringe Socceroo Nathan Burns and All Whites midfielder Michael McGlinchey are also expected to make their competitive debuts for Phoenix.

Sidnei Sciola starred last season against the Phoenix, scoring a powerful long range shot in Round 9, but will he’ll be missing due to a calf injury. AS Roma-bound Danny de Silva, along with Riley Woodcock and Jordan Thurtell will also miss the game because of Young Socceroos commitments at the AFC U-19 Championship in Myanmar.

Sunday’s match will be the first time, Michael Thwaite will lead Perth Glory FC as new club captain. The 31 year old Brisbane born central defender will re-unite with former Gold Coast team mate Djulbic, in the heart of Glory’s defence.

Perth Glory FC Player to watch: Andy Keogh

Irish international Andy Keogh will be looking to bag his first Hyundai A-League goal at Westpac Stadium, after an impressive pre-season campaign that’s so far resulted in three goals in the two opening rounds of the Westfield FFA Cup. So far, the ex-Wolverhampton Wolves striker has shown great signs of integrating with his teammates and his dynamic movement and expert positioning off the ball should prove to be a real headache for the ‘Nix defence this weekend.

Wellington Phoenix Player to watch: Michael McGlinchey

New signing Michael McGlinchey returns home to New Zealand after five seasons with the Central Coast Mariners. McGlinchey is no stranger to Perth Glory FC; he famously missed the penalty prior to Jacob Burns sealing Perth Glory FC’s place in the Hyundai A-League Grand Final in Season 7. After winning the league in Season 8 with the Mariners, McGlinchey will be hungry to get Phoenix off the mark with a victory in New Zealand.

Did you know?

Glory will travel the World’s second longest distance in a domestic football league, which is only second to the Russian Second Division clash between Baltika Kaliningrad and Luch Energia Vladivostok’s (7372.6 kilometres).

Results Hyundai A- League 2013/14:

Round 6: Wellington Phoenix 1 – 1 Perth Glory FC
(Nagai 29’ – Durante 4’)

Round 9: Perth Glory FC 4 – 2 Wellington Phoenix
(Sciola 16’, 90’, Thwaite 60’, Zahra 82’ – Huysegems 36’, Ifill 49’)

Round 22: Wellington Phoenix 1 – 1 Perth Glory FC
(Gallas 34’ – Cunningham 85’)

Sunday, 12 October 2014
Wellington Phoenix v Perth Glory
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 5:00pm local (12:00pm WST)
Referee: Alan Milliner
Assistant Referee 1: Mark Rule
Assistant Referee 2: Glen Lochrie
Fourth Official: Nick Waldron

Perth Glory squad : 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK) 3.Brandon O’NEILL, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6.Dino DJULBIC.7.Youssouf HERSI, 9.Andy KEOGH, 10 Nebosja MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA, 13.Diogo FERREIRA, 14 Chris HAROLD, 15.Jamie MACLAREN, 17.Mitch NICHOLS,18 Jack DUNCAN (GK) 19.Josh RISDON, 21.Scott JAMIESON 23.Michael THWAITE (C),