Glory rues missed chances against league leaders Sydney


Sydney FC has extended its undefeated Hyundai A-League run to 11 consecutive matches after the Sky Blues prevailed 4-1 over a new look Perth Glory side.

Glory opened the scoring first through 23-year-old striker Adam Taggart. It came after some brilliant hold-up play from Andy Keogh who found youngster Brandon Wilson, who held his nerve to cut back for a charging Taggart to poke home the first goal of the match.

Glory’s lead would last less than a minute, as Sydney attacked from kick-off. Serbian playmaker Milos Ninkovic found Alex Brosque on the left side with an incisive through ball, the Sky Blues captain slamming his shot across Glory custodian Liam Reddy into the bottom right hand corner.

The teams went into the break level at 1-1, before marquee man Filip Holosko put Sydney ahead in the 61st minute. Rhyan Grant’s looping cross landed on the Slovenian wingers head, lobbing his shot over a diving Reddy into the top left corner.

Glory had a flurry of chances in the ten minutes that would follow, with Sydney FC shot stopper Danny Vukovic making arguably the save of the season to deny Glory captain Rostyn Griffiths who headed goal with Wilson’s deflected follow up striking the bottom of the post moments later.

However, Sydney would double its advantage through Brazilian striker Bobo. Ninkovic was allowed space on the left, playing in Bobo at close range as Sydney’s other marquee man struck his shot across Reddy into the back of the net. The visitors made it 4-1 with a late penalty kick finished by substitute Bernie Ibini-Isei.

Glory now heads into back-to-back away games after Christmas against Melbourne City (Tuesday 27th of December) and Western Sydney Wanderers (Sunday 1st of January), before returning home to face Wellington Phoenix on Friday, the 5th of January 2017.


Key Moments:

First Half

7’ Marc Warren is threaded through on the left hand side and his cross almost finds Taggart. The ball deflects out towards Andy Keogh in the six yard box but Vukovic makes a last ditch save.

11’ Warren is again free on the left and his low driven cross finds Keogh but Alex Wilkinson throws his body on the line to make a goal-saving tackle.

18’ Warren finds space on the left and slams a ferocious strike over the bar

20’ GOAL – Keogh holds the ball up in the box, eventually turning and sending in a driven cross that picks out Wilson, cutting back to Taggart who drills home from close range.

21’ GOAL –Brosque restores parity for the visitors as some nice link-up play in the midfield allows Ninkovic to send through the veteran as he drills his shot into the bottom right corner.

30’ Josh Risdon cuts inside on his left foot and floats in a brilliant ball to Warren at the back post, who can only direct his header wide.                     

31’ Lowry blocks a pass into the box only for it to fall into the path of Brosque, his first-time strike going well wide of the mark.

42’ Risdon delivers a cross in towards Keogh, he strikes on the turn straight at Vukovic.

Second Half

51’ Brandon O’Neill attempts to curl his effort into the top corner but it fails to trouble Reddy.

52’ It’s Marinkovic’s turn to deliver a set piece but it hits the stanchion behind the net.

61’ GOAL – Holosko puts Sydney in front with a looping header into the top corner from Grant’s cross.

65’ Marinkovic delivers a dangerous cross into the back post for Griffiths, who drives his header across goal, but is denied by a stunning save by Vukovic. He parries it into the path of Wilson, his first time volley deflects onto the post, bouncing to Lowry who can only scoop his shot over the bar.

69’ Taggart finds himself one-on-one but Vukovic thwarts his effort with an outstretched leg.

71’ GOAL – Ninkovic finds Bobo in the box, the Brazilian places his shot across Reddy into the back of the net.

81’ Diego Castro rockets his free kick straight at Vukovic who punches it away.

90+ GOAL –Ibini wins a penalty after being fouled by Aryn Williams. His following spot kick is drilled into the bottom left corner, sending Reddy the wrong way.

Match Details

Saturday, 17 December 2016
Perth Glory v Sydney FC nib Stadium, Perth
Attendance: 9119

Referee: Alan Milliner
Assistant Referee 1: Josh Mannella
Assistant Referee 2: Matthew Southern
Fourth Official: Adam Fielding

Perth Glory squad: 3.Marc WARREN (16. Joe MILLS 66’), 4.Shane LOWRY, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 8.Rostyn GRIFFITHS (c), 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC (17. Diego CASTRO 68’), 15.Brandon WILSON, 19.Josh RISDON, 22.Adam TAGGART (14.Chris HAROLD 78’), 33.Liam REDDY (gk)

Unused Subs: 13.Nicholas FEELY (gk), 24.Milan SMILJANIC

Yellow Cards: Risdon 28’
Red Cards: nil

Sydney FC squad:  4.Alex WILKINSON, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 9.BOBÔ, 10.Milos NINKOVIC (5.Matt JURMAN 90’), 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c) (11.Bernie IBINI 74’), 20.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 21.Filip HOLOSKO (19.George BLACKWOOD 89’), 22.Sebastian RYALL, 23.Rhyan GRANT,

Unused Subs: 40.Chris OLDFIELD (gk), 17.David CARNEY

Yellow Cards: Grant 84’, Zullo 88’
Red Cards: nil