Glory roar past Brisbane into A-League Finals


Perth Glory has sealed its spot in the Hyundai A-League Finals after a crucial 3-1 victory over high-flying Brisbane Roar.

The win lifted Glory into fifth spot after Richard Garcia, Andy Keogh and Rostyn Griffiths scored the all-important goals for the home side, cancelling out Brett Holman’s 57th minute goal for the Queenslanders.

Glory created the slight majority of chances and eventually broke the deadlock in the 35th minute. Perth Glory’s marquee man Diego Castro swung in a free kick onto the head of Garcia, who guided his effort over Jamie Young and off the post into the back of the net.

On the other side of the half time break, it would be Garcia’s 2010 FIFA World Cup teammate Holman to find the back of the net for the visitors. Bursting into the box, Holman’s slammed shot deflected off the outstretched foot of Rhys Williams, unfortunately looping over Reddy into the top corner to equalize.

However, Roar’s respite would only be short-lived as Glory regained the lead 11 minutes later in superb style. A barnstorming run forward by Josh Risdon saw the Socceroo pick out striker Andy Keogh at the back post with a well-weighted cross. The Irishman made no mistake from close distance, slamming a ferocious volley past Young at the near bottom corner.

Glory would then double the lead in the 76th minute via super-sub Rostyn Griffiths. Glory’s captain found space just inside the box on his right foot, whipping a glorious strike around the Roar custodian into the far side netting, sending the Perth Glory faithful into raptures.

The three points for Glory lifts the West Australians above Western Sydney Wanderers to 36 points, three points behind Brisbane Roar and next weekend’s opponent Melbourne City (both on 39 points).

The final home match of the season against City kicks off at 5pm next Easter Sunday at nib Stadium.

Purchase your tickets for our last regular season home match here: http://bit.ly/2ocjaG9

Match Details
Perth Glory 3 (Garcia 35’, Keogh 67’, Griffiths 76’)
Brisbane Roar 1 (Holman 57’)
Round 26 – nib Stadium

Attendance: 8834

Referee: Chris Beath
Assistants: Matthew Cream and Paul Cetrangolo
Fourth Official: Adam Fielding

Key Moments

First Half
7’ Mills scuffs a shot across the face of Young’s goal after latching onto a Josh Risdon cross at the back post.
10’ Taggart’s lofted header shaves the outside of the far post after another superb cross from Risdon.
18’ Reddy makes a superb save at his near top corner, parrying away a first time volley by Maclaren.
24’ Williams blocks a Maclaren shot on the goal line after Borrello latched onto a through ball by Holman.
35’ Garcia scores, Glory lead 1-0. A Diego Castro free kick is met by the glancing header of Garcia, looping his shot over Young into the far top corner of the post.

Second Half
57’ Holman scores, Roar bring it level at 1-1. Holman cuts inside, his slammed shot deflecting unfortunately off Lucian Goian’s foot over Reddy into the far top corner.
61’ Hingert drops a cross onto the head of an unmarked Maclaren, his effort drifts just wide of Reddy’s far post.
64’ Maclaren bursts forward to shoot from close range but Goian lunges to steer the shot out for a corner.
67’ Keogh scores, Glory lead 2-1. Risdon finds the Irishman with a perfected curling cross at the back post, Keogh volleying first time on his left foot low and hard past Young into the near bottom corner.
76’ Griffiths scores, Glory extend their lead to 3-1. The super sub curls from just inside the box past Young into the far side netting to double Glory’s advantage.


Perth Glory FC: 33. Liam REDDY (GK), 5. Rhys WILLIAMS, 7. Joel CHIANESE, 9. Andy KEOGH (C), 11. Richard GARCIA (8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS 63’), 16. Joseph MILLS, 17. Diego CASTRO (14. Chris HAROLD 50’), 18. Mitch OXBORROW (15. Brandon WILSON 71’), 19. Josh RISDON, 22. Adam TAGGART, 26. Lucian GOIAN

Subs not used: 13. Nicholas FEELY (GK), 6. Dino DJULBIC

Yellow Cards: Mitch OXBORROW 17’, Andy KEOGH 38’
Red Cards: nil

Brisbane Roar: 21. Jamie YOUNG (GK), 3. Luke DEVERE, 5. Corey BROWN, 8. Jacob PEPPER, 9. Jamie MACLAREN, 10. Brett HOLMAN, 13. Jade NORTH (C), 15. Manuel ARANA (26. Nicholas D’AGOSTINO 80’), 19. Jack HINGERT, 28. Brandon BORRELLO, 29. Joe CALETTI (16. Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS 80’)

Subs not used: 20. Shannon BRADY, 43. Tomislav BILIC (GK), 46. Cameron CRESTANI

Yellow Cards: Jacob PEPPER 37’
Red Cards: nil