Glory Ready for Blues Grudge Match


Revenge and staying in the premiership title race will be the focus for Perth Glory FC when it hosts rivals Sydney FC at nib Stadium tomorrow night.

The game, looms as a major grudge match between the two, with both sides claiming victory over the other this season.

Glory suffered a 3-1 defeat at the hands of the Sky Blues at nib Stadium in February in what was a fiery encounter and saw three players sent off.

That match followed Perth’s pulsating come from behind 2-1 victory at Allianz Stadium in December.

Friday night’s match will be a blockbuster for both teams as they look to cement a top two finish.

Glory coach, Kenny Lowe, is relishing the chance to lock horns with Sydney gaffer Graham Arnold.

“They’re a fantastic team and have got some wonderful players. They’ve got a wily old coach who throws a few hand grenades about so I’m sure it’ll be interesting over the next few days.”

With plenty of fire power, both sides will be confident of claiming the three points – but Perth have a secret weapon in midfield ace, Rostyn Griffiths.

The 27-year-old has scored in all three of his previous Hyundai A-League appearances against the Blues, including a clinical header which sparked a Glory fight back in the team’s round nine win.

Glory will also be buoyed by an in-form Andy Keogh.

The Irishman has scored 11 goals from 24 appearances this season and right now is the second highest goal scorer for Glory (behind Shane Smeltz 17 [26]) in a season.

In what will be the club’s second last home game of the regular season, Perth will be pressing for the win to maintain pressure on fellow table toppers, Melbourne Victory.

The match kicks off at 7.45pm. Gates open for fans at 6.15pm.

You can grab your tickets to the monumental clash between two of the Hyundai A-League’s title hopefuls here .

Fans and supporters are being encouraged to wear their Glory gear, or alternatively take advantage of the cracking end of season deals by visiting the club shop at 20 Oxford Close, West Leederville or by shopping online here .

Hyundai A-League Fact #1
This fixture averages 2.83 goals per game, with the last 0-0 draw occurring in January 2010.

Hyundai A-League Fact #2
Glory left back, Scott Jamieson, has drawn 55 fouls throughout the season – the most of any Perth Glory player.

Hyundai A-League Fact #3
Three Glory players have appeared in every match this season – Michael Thwaite, Andy Keogh and Scott Jamieson.

Hyundai A-League Fact #4
Perth Glory have scored 16 goals from set pieces this season, which is the highest in the Hyundai A-League.


Friday, 10 April 2015

Perth Glory v Sydney FC

nib Stadium, Perth

Kick-Off: 7:45 PM (Local) (9:45 PM AEST)

Referee: Kris Griffiths-Jones

Assistant Referee 1: Josh Mannella

Assistant Referee 2: Tim Mihevc

Fourth Official: David Bruce

TV Broadcast : Live and exclusive coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 9.30pm (AEST) and Sky Sport 4 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast : Online/ABC Radio Mobile phone app.

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #PERvSYD

Perth Glory FC squad : 1.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 4.Riley WOODCOCK, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA, 13.Diogo FEREIRRA, 14.Chris Harold, 15.Jamie MACLAREN, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA, 18.Jack DUNCAN (gk), 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Daniel DE SILVA, 21.Scott JAMIESON, 23.Michael THWAITE (c), 25.Mitch OXBORROW, 27.Dragan PALJIC

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 4.Riley WOODCOCK (promoted), 18.Jack DUNCAN (gk), 13.Diogo FEREIRRA, 25.Mitch OXBORROW

Outs: 8.Ruben ZADKOVICH (knee – 1 week)

Unavailable: 7.Youssouf HERSI

Sydney FC squad : 1.Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 2.Seb RYALL, 5.Matt JURMAN, 6.Nikola PETKOVIC, 8.Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 11.Bernie IBINI, 12.Hagi GLIGOR, 13.Christopher NAUMOFF, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c), 16.Alex GERSBACH, 18.Peter TRIANTIS, 20.Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 21.Mark JANKO, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 25.Aaron CALVER, 26.Jacques FATY, 29.George BLACKWOOD, 34.Robert STAMBOLZIEV

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 12.Hagi GLIGOR (promoted), 18.Peter TRIANTIS (promoted), 25.Aaron CALVER (promoted)

Outs: 27.Mickael TAVARES (groin – 1 week)

Unavailable: 3.Sasa OGNENOVSKI (hip – indefinite), 7.Corey GAMEIRO (knee – indefinite), 9.Shane SMELTZ (suspended – 1 match), 17.Terry ANTONIS (knee – 2 weeks), 19.Nick CARLE (knee – indefinite), 22.Ali ABBAS (knee – indefinite)