Glory lose five goal thriller

Perth Glory’s tough run has continued with a thrilling 3-2 loss to Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium.

Perth Glory-s tough run has continued with a thrilling 3-2 loss to Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium.

A young Glory side produced an encouraging second half performance, despite playing with 10 men for much of it and finishing with just nine, but it wasn-t enough to stop the league leaders.

“Not too many teams come to Brisbane and score two goals but credit to them,” Perth Glory interim head coach Ian Ferguson said.

“Brisbane has great mobility, good movement and are first class.”

The Roar took the lead through Jean Carlo Solorzano in the 41st minute before Matthew Smith doubled their advantage in the 57th.

Substitute Robbie Fowler got one back for Glory from the penalty spot in the 66th minute, his 6th goal of the season but Solorzano responded 10 minutes later from the penalty spot.

Adriano Pellegrino scored an astonishing goal to give Perth hope in the final minutes, but the Roar held on to ensure they-ve now gone 13 games without losing.

The Glory-s loss was soured further by a groin injury to left-back Naum Sekulovski, forcing him off after just 13 minutes, while Scott Neville and Josh Mitchell will be suspended after they were sent off late in the game, a massive blow to a defence already missing Jamie Harnwell, Andy Todd and Chris Coyne.

Ferguson made five changes, with Neville, Tommy Amphlett, Howard Fondyke, Andrija Jukic and Branko Jelic brought into the starting 11.

The Roar had 67 per cent of possession in the first half but didn-t convert it into a good opportunity until the 29th minute, when striker Thomas Broich-s fierce shot from the edge of the box went just over.

The hosts finally broke through four minutes before half time when Solorzano beat two challenges, moved around Glory ‘keeper Tando Velaphi and finished into an empty net.

Velaphi did incredibly well to deny Brisbane a second goal in the 52nd minute, when Matt McKay-s initial blocked shot fell to Massimo Murdocca, but Velaphi tipped the midfielder-s close-range effort over.

Smith scored the Roar-s second just five minutes later, scoring past Velaphi with a powerful header following a corner.

Pellegrino and Fowler came on midway through the second half and the changes worked immediately, with Luke DeVere called for handball in the penalty box. Fowler hammered the spot-kick past Michael Theoklitos to get the visitors back into the game.

But Solorzano made the margin two again when Neville dragged him down in the box to receive his second yellow, before the Costa Rican attacker powered the penalty past Velaphi.

Pellegrino scored a stunning goal to give Perth hope once again, swerving the ball past Theoklitos from 25 yards, but the Roar controlled the final few minutes to hang on for the win.

The Glory face North Queensland on Sunday to wrap up their three-game road trip.

Brisbane Roar: 3 (SOLORZANO 41-, 76- (pen), SMITH 57-)
Perth Glory: 2 (FOWLER (pen) 66-, PELLEGRINO 83-)
Wednesday, 24 November 2010
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Referee: Matthew Gillett
Crowd: 6,836

Brisbane Roar line-up: 1. Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2. Matthew SMITH (12. Matt MUNDY 64-), 3.Luke DEVERE, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Erik PAARTALU, 7. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 8. Massimo MURDOCCA, 9. Jean Carlos SOLORZANO (11. REINALDO 77-), 15. Matt McKAY (c) (17. Mitch NICHOLS 77-), 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Milan SUSAK

Substitutes Not Used: 20.REDMAYNE (gk)

Yellow Cards: Nil

Red Cards: Nil

Perth Glory line-up: 1. Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2. Josh MITCHELL, 3. Jamie COYNE, 7. Jacob BURNS, 11. Branko JELIC, 12. Scott NEVILLE, 13. Tommy AMPLETT, 15. Howard FONDYKE (16. Adriano PELLEGRINO 64-), 17. Todd HOWARTH, 19. Naum SEKULOVSKI (14. Steven McGARRY 13-), 23. Andrija JUKIC (9. Robbie FOWLER 64-)

Substitutes Not Used: 20.VRTESKI (gk)

Yellow Cards:JUKIC 25-, VELAPHI 33-, NEVILLE 70-, 75-

Red Cards:NEVILLE 75-, MITCHELL 90+1-