Glory gets Victory


A highly spirited performance from Perth has been rewarded with a 2-1 come from behind win over high-flying Melbourne Victory.

It was another drama-filled afternoon at nib Stadium in front 11,271 fans, with Liam Reddy’s penalty save, a Nebojsa Marinkovic dead-ball special and a late winner from Adam Taggart securing a vital three points.

Glory enjoyed a very positive start to the match, with Diego Castro and Brandon Wilson dictating play nicely in a first half void of clear cut chances. That all changed on the stroke of half-time, when Victory was awarded a penalty for Shane Lowry’s challenge on fellow Socceroo James Troisi.

Besart Berisha failed to convert, after Reddy pulled off another heroic outstretched save to ensure it remained goalless at the break.

Despite Perth taking the momentum into the second-half, it was Melbourne who opened the scoring against the run of play from the penalty spot. It was second time lucky for Berisha, as the Albanian slotted home after Joseph Mills was judged to have fouled Troisi following a swift counter-attack.


Kenny Lowe’s men reacted sharply to the setback, with Milan Smiljanic and Adam Taggart both forcing smart saves from Victory keeper Lawrence Thomas. Glory was rewarded for its persistence at the 77th-minute, with set-piece specialist Marinkovic curling home a sublime free-kick to even the ledger. The equaliser was the Serbian’s fourth strike of the season.

Perth was clearly not content with just a point, and the fans could sense it with The Shed absolutely buzzing. They were sent into a frenzy at the 84th minute when in-form striker Adam Taggart cooly diverted Josh Risdon’s pinpoint cutback into the net to give Glory a well-deserved lead.

Quick feet and cool heads from the likes of Castro and captain Andy Keogh ensured Glory extended their unbeaten streak to eight games against Victory with a 2-1 triumph.
Key Moments:

First Half: 

2′ Berish is able to find space in the area, but his shot from close range is straight at Reddy who saves comfortably.
8′ Rashid Mahazi has a shot from the edge of the area, but it’s blocked superbly for a corner by Shane Lowry.
22′ Georgievski’s attempted cross along the box from well inside the area is straight at Reddy, who is able to collect easily.
36′ Risdon finds Smiljanic unmarked just outside the box, but the Serbian’s striker is blocked by Victory defender James Donachie.
39′ Jai Ingham finds room inside the Glory, but his shot is again blocked Lowry for a corner.
42′ Castro’s neat pass to Risdon enables the full-back a free shot on goal from outside the box, but his left-foot curler is into the hands of Lawrence Thomas.
45′ Victory are awarded a penalty for Lowry’s challenge on Troisi, but Reddy is able to save Berisha’s penalty with a stunning outstretched block.

Second Half:

56′ Castro’s defence splitting ball finds Keogh, but his shot is blocked for a corner by Alan Baro.
58′ Mills is judged to have fouled Troisi inside the box, this time Berisha converts into the bottom right corner.
62′ Milan Smiljanic’s powerful strike along the floor fizzes passed the Victory defence, but Thomas was equal to the shot pushing it around the post for a corner.
65′ Taggart tries his luck from distance after finding space, but his shot is fisted away by Thomas.
67′ Marco Rojas is clear through on goal, but Reddy saves his shot from the one-on-one.
84′ Risdon’s tidy work down the right-hand side led to a perfect cutback to Taggart, who cooly diverted the ball home.


Perth Glory: 33. Liam REDDY (GK), 4. Shane LOWRY, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Joel CHIANESE (10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC 69′), 9. Andy KEOGH (C), 15. Brandon WILSON, 16. Joseph MILLS, 17. Diego CASTRO, 19. Josh RISDON, 22. Adam TAGGART, 24. Milan SMILJANIC

Subs not used: 3. Marc WARREN, 10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11. Richard GARCIA, 13. Nicholas FEELY (GK), 23. Kosta PETRATOS

Yellow Cards: 19. Josh RISDON 12′, 17. Diego CASTRO 31′, 

Melbourne Victory: 20. Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 5. Daniel GEOGIEVSKI, 6. Leigh BROXHAM (22. Stefan NIGRO 90+1′), 8. Besart BERISHA, 10. James TROISI, 11. Mitchell AUSTIN (7. Marco ROJAS 64′), 15. Alan BARO, 16. Rashid Mahazi, 17. James DONACHIE, 21. Carl VALERI (C), 23. Jai INGHAM (9. Max BEISTER 84′)
Subs not used: 9. Max BEISTER, 40. Matthew ACTON (GK)

Yellow Cards: 21. Carl VALERI 68′, 15. Alan BARO 75′, 16. Rashid MAHAZI 90′