Glory fall to Victory


Glory suffered their first home defeat since Round 24 of last season as second-half goals from Besart Berisha and Leroy George steered Melbourne Victory to a 2-0 win at nib Stadium.

The injury-ravaged hosts impressed at times in front of a season-best crowd of 13,565, with 16-year-old winger Jacob Italiano acquitting himself well on his senior debut and Shane Lowry producing another commanding performance at the heart of the defence.

But they were ultimately undone after the break as Berisha came back to haunt them yet again when he found the net with a typically predatory finish on 55 minutes and midway through the half, George doubled Victory’s advantage with his third goal of the season.

 After a cagey opening, Liam Reddy was called into action after 16 minutes when he produced a fine double-save to foil James Troisi.

And with clear-cut chances few and far between in the opening 45, it was Albanian striker Berisha who came closest to opening the scoring as his deft header from George’s whipped cross rebounded back off the post and safely into the gloves of Reddy with 27 minutes played.

Berisha wasn’t to be denied a second time ten minutes into the second-half, however, sliding home Jai Ingham’s cross from close range.

And Kevin Muscat’s side made it 2-0 minutes later when Dutchman George directed Troisi’s cutback into the net.

Perth pressed hard to narrow the deficit, with Andy Keogh’s left-footed strike in stoppage time flashing past the post, but it just wasn’t to be for the men in purple.

Match Details:

Perth Glory 0 – Melbourne Victory 2 (Berisha 55′, George 77′)

Half-Time: 0-0

nib Stadium, Perth

Referee: Jonathan Barreiro

Perth Glory Squad:

33. Liam REDDY (GK), 2. Alex GRANT, 4. Shane LOWRY, 6. Mitch Nichols, 8. Xavi Torres, 9. Andy KEOGH (C), 14. Chris HAROLD (11. Mitch MALLIA 64′), 15. Brandon WILSON (20. Jake BRIMMER 64′), 16. Joseph MILLS, 26. Jacob ITALIANO, 29. Jeremy WALKER

Subs not used: 13. Nick FEELY (GK), 5. Jacob POSCOLIERO, 19. Joe KNOWLES

Yellow cards: Nichols 14′

Red cards: None.

Melbourne Victory Squad:

20. Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 2. Jason GERIA, 4. Rhys WILLIAMS, 5. Mark MILLIGAN (18. Matias SANCHEZ), 6. Leigh BROXHAM (22. Stefan NIGRO), 8. Besart BERISHA, 10. James TROISI, 14. Thomas DENG, 21. Carl VALERI (C), 23. Jai INGHAM, 41. Leroy GEORGE (31. Christian THEOHAROUS)

Subs not used: 1. Matthew ACTON (GK), 7. Kenjok ATHIU

Yellow cards: Broxham 17′