Glory to face South American giants in Malaysian Cup


Some of WA’s elite footballers will be pitted against the world’s best when Perth Glory heads to Malaysia this weekend to take part in the annual Frenz International Cup.

Glory has been invited to take part in the ten day U-18 tournament which will feature Turkey’s Besiktas JK, Japanese giants Kashima Antlers and Argentina’s Estudiantes de LP.

Glory has been placed in the same group as the South Americans and Asian powerhouse Suwon Samsung Bluewings FC.

While the tournament is aimed at promoting and developing football within Asia, Glory’s youth Coach John Gibson said the experience will be invaluable for Glory’s youngsters.

“This is a wonderful opportunity to test ourselves against arguably the world’s best” he said

“We are taking boys who have started university or are still finishing high school, some of who are as young as 14. For them it will be an amazing experience and one they will never forget” he said.

Glory has three teams which compete in the WA-NPL competition (U-18s U-20s and senior team) but have been able to re-schedule some local fixtures to accommodate the international trip.

“We’d like to thank those clubs, who’ve enabled us to take this offer up. To be the only club in Australia participating in this international tournament is a testament to everyone involved at Perth Glory” Gibson said.  

Glory’s 19-man squad flies out on Saturday morning and will tackle host side Frenz United FC on Monday night at the Pasir Gudang stadium in the southern Malaysian state of Johor.

Perth Glory Squad:

1.       Ross MILLARD (97)

2.       Scott ROBERTSON (97)

3.       Sam MCKEARNEN (97)

4.       Riley STEPHENSON (98)

5.       Stef KING (99)

6.       Jack LEACH (99)

7.       Sam POLLARD (99)

8.       Ignacio DOMINGUEZ (99)

9.       Ismail ATAK (99)

10.     Abias  BUKEYI (00)

11.     Cam MURRAY (99)

12.     Harry QUIGLEY (00)

13.     Ethan BROOKS (00)

14.     Tom EIJUNHEISEN (00)

15.    Zayd FARAH (00)

16.    Joe TWEATS (00)

17.    Adam ZIMARINO (01)

18.     Cam MCLEAN (01)

19.     Riley WARLAND (02)