Glory come from behind to beat Subiaco


Perth Glory has won for the first time in the 2016 PS4 National Premier League WA, after two late strikes from Aryn Williams and Dejan Spaseski helped them to a 2-1 win against Subiaco at Ashfield Sports Club on Saturday.

Glory coach John Gibson was pleased with his youngsters, especially after a frustrating first half.

“We knew what we were up against, they (Subiaco) were always going to be well organised, compete and work to the final whistle – we respect that,” he said,

“Although we left it a little late, to the lads credit they converted the chances and all their hard work paid off.”

The coach was really pleased for Spaseski, who has been out for a number of months with injury.

“Dejan has a little habit of scoring late goals, and he always mentions that,” he joked.

“It’s a cool reward for Dejan and our physio Nafyn Pattriachi for all the hard work they have put in to get back to fitness, and were delighted to have him back.

“We showed super character again today, but we still need to show better quality on the ball more consistently.

For Spaseski it was a great way to return, and he hopes to contribute to a good season for the club.

“After 4 months out with injury, it was a great feeling to come on to help the lads to our first win of the season, and hopefully it will be the first of many,” he said.

“We have had a rough start to the season results wise, but the team has the belief we can turn it around and really make something of this season.”

With Perth Glory A-League coach Kenny Lowe and his assistant Andrew Ord watching from the sidelines, it wasn’t the start they, or the Glory supporters were looking for as Subiaco scored after only five minutes.

Big Scottish striker Ian McMurray rose highest to head home from a corner kick.

The early set back didn’t deter the Glory side and they went close to the equaliser on 18 minutes.

Petratos found a pocket of space on the edge of the penalty area and the Australian under 17’s international’s shot flashed just over the bar.

Petratos was a constant threat for the Subiaco defence and he had another chance ten minutes later, but his shot was wide of the target.

But Subiaco almost doubled their lead just before half time, McMurray’s effort was superbly saved by Glory keeper Jordan Thurtell.

Then in the shadows of half time Glory had its best chance of the half. Joe Knowles lost his marker on the edge of the penalty area, his shot beat keeper Ryan Montgomery, but the crossbar came to the rescue of the Subiaco custodian.

The woodwork came to Subiaco’s rescue again in the opening minute of the second half, Sam McKearnen’s header crashing off the crossbar and away to safety,

It was both sets of defenders who were on top, with chances few and far between, and with time running out it looked like the Glory would be frustrated again.

But on 78 minutes the Glory’s pressure was rewarded with the equaliser. Knowles shot was blocked and Williams was quickest to react to fire low past Montgomery.

The goal boosted the Glory youngsters and five minutes later they secured the winning goal.

Spaseski, who came off the bench on 55 minutes, got on the end of a Petratos’ cross and his diving header beat Montgomery to seal the three points.

The win moves the Glory youngsters up to ninth on the table and next week they travel to Dorrien Gardens on Saturday to take on Perth Soccer Club – 3.00pm kick off      

Menatime, in other results,  Glory’s U-18s beat Subiaco 4-0 while Bobby Despotovski’s U-20s drew 2-2.

Match Details
Perth Glory 2 (Aryn Williams 78’, Dejan Spaseski 83’)
Subiaco 1 (Ian McMurray 5’)
Saturday April 23 2016
Venue: Ashfield Reserve
Referee:  Nico Hoyle
Assistants: Brendan Skinner, Marcus Watts

Perth Glory: GK Jordan THURTELL(c), 2 Gian ALBANO, 3 Aryn WILLIAMS, 4 Scott ROBERTSON, 7 Jackson MORGAN (13 Nic Talimdzioski 55’), 5 Ross MILLARD, 6 Calvin WHITNEY, 14 Jacob MUSTAFA, (12 Daniel STYNES 46’) 9 Joe KNOWLES, 10 Sam MCKEARNEN (15 Dejan SPASEKI 55’), 11 Kosta PETRATOS

Subs not used: RGK Riley STEPHENSON, 8 Sean TROUP

Yellow cards: nil

Subiaco: GK Ryan MONTGOMERY, 2 Nathan DIAZ (c), 3 Ger FITZGERALD, 4 Jackson DONGRAY, 17 Hamish BLANCHARD (15 Ross JARMAN 67’), 10 Rory FEELY, 11 Owen COATES, 12 Jonas DORLING, 14 Zack EDWARDS (7 Carlin FEELY 79’), 18 Dylan ANDREWS, 9 Ian McMurray (19 Brynn LAKEY 86’)

Subs not used: RGK Hamish St GEORGE, 13 George Tchami

Yellow cards: Fitzgerald 76’