Glory boys in Young Socceroos camp


Young Socceroos Head Coach Ufuk Talay has selected three Perth Glory youngsters in his 24-player squad for a training camp at the AIS next month.

The squad, which consists of players who come from teams in the Foxtel National Youth League, will assemble in Canberra on Monday 6 February looking to impress Talay and his coaching staff.

“The squad comprises of players born in 1999, most of whom have been playing in the recently completed National Youth League season,” said Talay.

“The aim of the camp is to have a look at these players in our environment, get them to understand the philosophies of the national teams and the way we want to play, and moving forward beginning to prepare for the AFC U-19 Championship 2018 Qualifiers in October.”

Every club in the Foxtel National Youth League is represented in the squad, with champions Melbourne City FC having five players in the list of 24.

The camp will run between 6-9 February.

Young Socceroos squad – training camp 6-9 February

Nathaniel Atkinson (Melbourne City FC)

Joshua Cavallo (Melbourne Victory)

Mathieu Cordier (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

Henry Davies (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

James Delianov (Melbourne City FC)

Mitchell Dobson (Newcastle Jets)

Macklin Freke (Brisbane Roar FC)

Dennis Genreau (Melbourne City FC)

Dane Ingham (Brisbane Roar FC)

John Iredale (Sydney FC)

Stefan King (Perth Glory)

Taci Kumsuz (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

Patrick Langlois (Newcastle Jets FC)

Daniel Leck (Brisbane Roar FC)

Connor Metcalfe (Melbourne City FC)

Oliver Puflett (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

Aaron Reardon (Brisbane Roar FC)

Adam Sawyer (Brisbane Roar FC)

Walter Scott (Perth Glory)

Apostolos Stamatelopoulos (Adelaide United)

Gianni Stensness (Central Coast Mariners)

Gerrie Sylaidos (Melbourne City FC)

Christian Theoharous (Melbourne Victory FC)

Callum Timmins (Perth Glory FC)

Mark Tokich (FFA COE)