Glorious football feast in store for Perth


Perth Glory FC will kick off its first home game of the season on Sunday in what will be a packed week of football for the Western Australians.

Glory hosts New Zealand rivals Wellington Phoenix at nib Stadium, in the first game of the newly created Long Distance Derby Cup. The team with the most points after three rounds, will win the trophy.

Head coach Kenny Lowe and his team will be focusing on claiming full points, after their first Hyundai A-League clash at Central Coast ended in a 3-2 loss.

However Lowe said there were still many positives to be taken from last week’s match against the Mariners.

“We were attacking really well, we need to be a bit more intense defensively but if we remove the mistakes and keep the attacking intensity and increase our defensive resolution we’ll be right” he said.

It will be the first time new recruits Diego Castro from Spain, Guyon Fernandez from the Netherlands and Gyorgy Sandor from Hungary will play at nib Stadium.

“We’ve probably got the best player in the A-League in Castro. You watch him at training-he’s only played 90 mins-but he’s going to be an exciting player..and Guyon, he’ll score goals” Lowe said.

“We got to believe in ourselves, we want to win everything all the time ..we are driven”.

Sunday’s match will be the first of a three home game run for Glory, allowing fans and members to enjoy top flight football.

Next Wednesday, on October 21, Perth will host Melbourne City in the FFA Cup semi-final at nib Stadium. A win for Glory would spell a back-to-back berth in the Cup final. Four days later, Glory will be playing in front of home fans once again, when it hosts Adelaide United.

Tickets to the Wellington match, can be purchased HERE



Sunday, 18 October 2015
Perth Glory v Wellington Phoenix
nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-Off: 4:00 PM (Local) (7:00 PM (AEDT)
Referee: Stephen Lucas
Assistant Referee 1: Josh Mannella
Assistant Referee 2: James Tesoriero
Fourth Official: Adam Fielding

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 4 (New Zealand)
Radio Broadcast: 720 ABC Perth, ABC Local Radio WA, Grandstand Digital & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live.
Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #PERvWEL
To purchase tickets visit www.a-league.com.au/tickets 

Perth Glory squad: 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 3.Marc WARREN, 4.Jacob COLLARD, 5.Antony GOLEC, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Gyorgy SANDOR, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA (c), 12.Jerrad TYSON (gk), 13.Diogo FERREIRA, 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Hagi GLIGOR, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA, 17.Diego CASTRO, 18.Mitch OXBORROW, 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Guyon FERNANDEZ, 23.Michael THWAITE
**Two to be omitted**

Ins: 4.Jacob COLLARD (promoted), 13.Diogo FERREIRA (promoted)

Outs: nil

Unavailable: 2.Alex GRANT (knee – 2 weeks), 8.Ruben ZADKOVICH (knee – indefinite)

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1.Glen MOSS (GK), 2.Manny MUSCAT, 3.Justin GULLEY, 4.Roly BONEVACIA, 5.Troy DANASKOS, 6.Dylan FOX, 7.Jeffrey SARPONG, 8.Alex RODRIGUEZ, 10.Michael MCGLINCHEY, 11.Kwabena APPIAH, 12.Blake Powell, 13.Albert RIERA, 16.Louis FENTON, 17.Vince LIA, 18.Ben SIGMUND, 19.Tom DOYLE, 20.Lewis ITALIANO (GK), 21.Roy KRISHNA

**Two to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Justin GULLEY (promoted), 5.Troy DANASKOS (promoted), 6.Dylan FOX (promoted)

Outs: 22.Andrew DURANTE (calf – 1-3 weeks)

Unavailable: nil