Glorious Cup Fairytale Continues


Perth Glory FC, has advanced to the Westfield FFA Cup semi-finals after a thrilling 4-2 win in extra time over Melbourne Victory.

Perth was led by unstoppable striker Andy Keogh who scored Glory’s first two goals and unselfishly set the team’s other two, one for Danny DE SILVA and another for Nebojsa MARINKOVIC. Keogh’s tally has jumped to five joining the Mariners’ Matt Sim as equal top goal scorer in the Cup competition.

There was bad news before the whistle was even blown for Victory, with stalwart striker Archie Thompson withdrawn from the bench after feeling ill during the warm up.

The game began with the Purple Army in full voice, and the team responded with some early pressure almost resulting in a Glory goal.

The visitors were quick to respond with pressure of their own, when Daniel Georgievski nearly played Besart Berisha behind the Glory defence.

The attempt was foiled, but seconds later Fahid Ben Khalfallah drove an unstoppable shot past a helpless Danny Vukovic from 20 meters out.

Despite the early blow, Glory refused to bow their heads and were rewarded in the 14th minute when a Richard Garcia cross found Hersi in the box.

Although he miscued his first shot, Hersi drew the foul from Leigh Broxham, earning Andy Keogh a chance from the spot to score his 8th goal in 6 appearances for the Glory.

The Irishman made no mistake, sending Coe the wrong way, and levelling the game at 1-1.

Victory suffered another blow in attack with enigmatic striker and Glory heartbreaker Besart Berisha leaving the field in the 44th minute, with a suspected groin injury.

The second half resumed in the same vein as the first ended, with both teams trying to assert their dominance in midfield and search for the winner.

In the 81st minute and with extra time looming, Scott Jamieson hit a delightful corner which found Keogh at the back post.

The joint-Hyundai A-League goal scorer made no mistake from close range, scoring his second brace of the Westfield FFA Cup.

The Victory began to play with more urgency in the final 10 minutes, and it told when Finkler curled a free kick past Vukovic from long range in the 90+1st minute.

The Glory pushed for a late winner, and Hersi came agonisingly close when his shot from the edge of the box cannoned into the crossbar, dropping inches away from the goal line.

Referee Alan Milliner then called a halt to regulation time with the sides unable to be separated after 90 minutes.

The first half of extra time matched the frenetic pace of the final ten minutes of regulation time, with Glory going close from a free kick after 93 minutes.

Five minutes later, disaster struck for the Victory with Georgievski sent off for his second bookable offence after a slide tackle on Jamieson.

In the 103rd minute, Glory’s numerical advantage showed when they caught Victory on the break and Keogh set youngster Danny De Silva up for his first senior goal for Perth Glory FC.

In the 110th minute, the Perth Glory FC mission was complete when Andy Keogh again turned provider, setting up Marinkovic who finished with undeniable class.

In the aftermath, Victory’s Adrian Leijer was given his marching orders by referee Alan Milliner for dissent.

It didn’t matter however, as Perth Glory FC booked their place in the Cup semi-finals with a 4-2 victory.

The draw will take place this Friday with Perth Glory FC to play either Central Coast, Adelaide United or Bentleigh Greens for a place in the inaugural Westfield FFA Cup Final.


Perth Glory FC: 9. Andy KEOGH 14’ (P), 81’, 20. Daniel DE SILVA 102’, 10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC 110’

Melbourne Victory: 14. Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH 7’, 7. Guilherme FINKLER 90+1’


Perth Glory FC: 17. Mitch NICHOLS 28’, 7. Youssouf HERSI 30’, 5. Rostyn GRIFFITHS 33’, 13. Diogo FERREIRA 109’

Melbourne Victory: 23. Adrian LEIJER 10’, 15. Daniel GEORGIEVSKI 24’


Perth Glory: nil.

Melbourne Victory: 15. Daniel GEORGIEVSKI 98’, 23. Adrian LEIJER 110’,





1. Danny VUKOVIC (GK), 5. Rostyn GRIFFITHS (13. Diogo FERREIRA 76’), 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Youssouf HERSI (10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC 91’), 9. Andy KEOGH, 11. Richard GARCIA (20. Daniel De Silva 80’), 15. Jamie MACLAREN, 17. Mitch NICHOLS, 19. Josh RISDON, 21. Scott Jamieson, 23. Michael THWAITE (c)

Subs not used: 2. Jack CLISBY, 18. Jack DUNCAN (GK)
Head Coach: Kenny Lowe


1. Nathan COE (GK), 5. Mark MILLIGAN (c), 6. Leigh BROXHAM, 8. Besart BERISHA (13. Andrew NABBOUT 44’), 9. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 14. Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15. Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 17. Matthieu DELPIERRE (16. Rashid MAHAZI 88’), 18. Dylan MURANE, 22. Jesse MAKAROUNAS (7. Guilherme FINKLER 64’), 23. Adrian LEIJER

Subs not used: 20. Laurence THOMAS (GK)
Head Coach: Kevin Muscat

Perth Glory Fixtures:

Saturday November 1
Hyundai A-League Round 4
PERTH GLORY FC vs Newcastle Jets
Kick-off: 4.30pm (AWST)
Tickets available here.