The game-changers that shaped MGP history


With the QBE Perth Glory Most Glorious Player Awards fast approaching, we take a look back at the highlights of the past 19 editions of the prestigious awards.

Most MGP’s Won: Bobby Despotovski (2000-2001, 2001-2002, 2003-2004 & 2005-2006)

Bobby Despotovski

The Glory icon is the king when it comes to the club’s awards night, with our now Perth Glory Women’s coach having won Most Glorious Player a record four times, while also racking up multiple Golden Boot awards to add to his illustrious collection of honours at the club.

International Winners:

Gavin Wilkinson & Danny Hay

There has been a total of four foreign MGP winners, with Kiwi duo Gavin Wilkison (1996-1997) and Danny Hay (1997-1998 & 1998-1999) taking out the first three between them. Hay shared the award with Scott Miller for the 1998-1999 season.

Andy Todd

Cult figure Andy Todd is the only Englishman to claim the prestigious trophy, with the former Premier League defender taking out the award for his stellar debut season with Glory.

Castro MGP
The other international is, of course, our current Spanish maestro, Diego Castro. The former La Liga playmaker was the club’s standout player last season and rightfully added the MGP award to his spectacular Johnny Warren Medal win for one of the greatest individual Hyundai A-League season performances in the history of the competition in 2015-2016. The skilful attacker will be looking to become only the third ever Glory player to make it back-to-back MGP’s, with feat Danny Hay and Bobby Despotovski the only two players to have managed this feat before.

Youngest Winner: Josh Risdon (2011-2012)


The WA born-and-raised defender became the youngest ever MGP winner back in 2012 after a standout season characterised by his adventurous runs down the right wing and desire to help the Glory cause. The 19-year-old enjoyed a breakout campaign for Perth establishing himself as part of the back four and starting in 24 matches.

Defender’s Rule:

Scotty Miller

Of the 15 winners of Glory’s most-saught after award, a staggering nine have been defenders. The list includes the likes of capped Socceroos big men Michael Thwaite (2013-2014), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (2007-2008), David Tarka (2006-2007) and club favourite Scotty Miller (1998-1999).

Only four midfielders have won the MGP, with inaugural skipper Gareth Naven (1999-2000), Simon Colosimo (2006-2007), Adriano Pellegrino (2008-2009) and of course Jacob Burns (2010-2011) all having come out on top.

Sharing is Caring:

 Colosimo and Tarka

The club’s ultimate individual award has only been shared twice, back in 1998-1999 and then again following the 2006-2007 season.

The first instance saw former Leed United defender Danny Hay and Scotty Miller take it out, while Simon Colosimo and David Tarka finished the vote count on equal points 10 years ago.

Women’s MGP:

Sam Kerr

After becoming the first ever Perth Glory player to win the Julie Dolan Medal for the Westfield W-League’s player of the season, local product Sam Kerr will be hoping to add to her already long list of accolades with the Women’s MGP following Vanessa DiBernardo’s 2015-2016 win.

Witness history this Saturday at the QBE Perth Glory Most Glorious Player Awards by booking your table here: http://bit.ly/2nGhNzB