Foreign flair runs riot over Reds


Perth Glory FC has earned its first three points of the Hyundai A-League season, thanks to an emphatic 3-1 victory over Adelaide United at nib Stadium on Sunday.

New signings Guyon Fernandez and Diego Castro scored their first goals for the club, as Glory took to the field for its third match in seven days. Both goals were set up by returning captain Richard Garcia, who was voted the QBE Supporters’ Man of the Match.

While Adelaide dominated possession from the outset, the South Australians could not muster a clean shot on target in the first 45 as a result of some stringent Glory defending. The Reds’ (playing in sky blue) best effort in the opening half came from Sergio Cirio in the 27’, when Mate Dugandzic dribbled to the by line before cutting it back to the Spaniard. Cirio took a touch but his shot on his second was expertly blocked by Marc Warren.

Sidnei Sciola provided the opening goal just before the stroke of half time. The in-form Gyorgy Sandor slid a perfectly timed ball through the Adelaide defence to Sciola, the Brazilian timing his run brilliantly to beat the offside trap and slot it home past United custodian John Hall for his first goal of the Hyundai A-League campaign.

The half-time break passed and Adelaide came out more determined as they pressed forward in search of an equaliser. Although Adelaide continued to dominate possession, they still struggled to create chances. Malik’s wayward header in the 50’ was the best chance the Reds had on goal.

However just 10 minutes later, Glory would double its lead in spectacular style. Garcia pounced on a loose ball, before charging down the left side of the field. He whipped in a low cross to Dutchman Guyon Fernandez at the top of the box, who made no mistake smashing the ball on his first touch, scoring his first goal  in Perth Glory colours, sending the crowd into raptures.

Adelaide worked desperately hard to cut the deficit. They threw men forward and in the 70’ Pablo Sanchez nearly found the mark with a chance in front of goal but Michael Thwaite anticipated well to make a crucial block.

In the 73’, Castro put the game beyond doubt. Subbed into the game just 11 minutes earlier, the Spaniard started a counter attack from midfield, finding Garcia on the left wing. The captain carried the ball forward before sending in a low pass across the 6-yard-box. It was just out of the reach for Fernandez but Castro was there at the back post to extend Glory’s lead to 3-0.

Three minutes later, Adelaide were gifted a consolation goal. Mate Dugandzic fired in a low cross and Diogo Ferreira anticipated well to get in front of it to block, but unfortunately it deflected the wrong way off the midfielder, past Covic and in for an Adelaide goal.

Glory’s defence continued to frustrate the Adelaide frontline, leading to Castro coming close to scoring in the final minutes. Fernandez darted into the box and centred it for Castro, but the marquee player could not quite finish off the chance, sending it inches wide of the near post after a clever first touch.

It was the first time Glory put three goals past Adelaide United at home and the first win against the South Australians since March 2012.

With the three points, Perth moves into 7th place on the ladder and will look for more Glory next Sunday away to Western Sydney Wanderers at Pirtek Stadium. A win against the Wanderers could see Glory surge ahead of Melbourne Victory and Melbourne City into the Hyundai A-League top six.

With its bid to host the Westfield FFA Cup Final at home yet to be determined, Glory’s next game at nib Stadium is scheduled for November 21st against Sydney FC.

Perth Glory 3 – SIDNEI Sciola (44’), Guyon FERNANDEZ (60’), Diego CASTRO (73’)
Adelaide United 1 – Diogo FERREIRA OG (75’)

Attendance: 7728

Perth Glory: 1. Ante COVIC (GK), 3. Marc WARREN, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Gyorgy SANDOR, 10. Nebosja MARINKOVIC, 11. Richard GARCIA (C – 18. Mitch OXBORROW 83’), 13. Diogo FERREIRA, 14. Chris HAROLD (20. Guyon FERNANDEZ 46’), 16. Sidnei SCIOLA (17. Diego CASTRO – 63’), 19. Josh RISDON, 23. Michael THWAITE.

Unused Subs: 2. Alex GRANT, 12. Jerrad TYSON (GK)
Yellow Card: Diogo FERREIRA (22’)
Red Cards: nil

Adelaide United: 4. Dylan MCGOWAN, 5. Osama MALIK, 7. Pablo SANCHEZ, 8. ISAIAS Sanchez, 9. Sergio CIRIO, 10. Marcelo CARRUSCA (14. George MELLS 86’), 16. Craig GOODWIN, 17. Mate DUGANDZIC (28. Antoni TRIMBOLI 83’), 18. James JEGGO, 20. John HALL (GK), 21. Tarek ELRICH.

Unused Subs: 2. Michael MARRONE, 15. Benjamin WARLAND, 30. John SOLARI (GK)
Yellow Card: Pablo SANCHEZ (39’)
Red Card: nil

#PERvADL #WestVsRest