Five star Glory outclass Reds to jump into top-four


Perth Glory FC put on an attacking master-class performance in the City of Churches to defeat defending champions Adelaide United 5-0 at Coopers Stadium on Friday night.

The scoring opened in bizarre circumstances just 15 minutes into the match. Josh Risdon’s floated cross found Reds defender Iacopo La Rocca unmarked at the back post, who miscued his headed clearance and put the ball past his keeper and into the back of the net.

Glory’s Spanish marquee Diego Castro would double Perth Glory’s lead 22 minutes later with a classy move. His quick feet were too much for the Adelaide defence, cutting inside and slamming his strike past Reds ‘keeper John Hall into the bottom far corner.

Glory made it 3-0 less than ten minutes later and this time Castro would play provider. On the break away, the Spaniard played a brilliant reverse pass to Andy Keogh on the angle, the Irishman making no mistake with his curling low strike past Hall.

Half time was a welcome break for both sides toiling in the heat, but Glory would be the team that would pick up where it left off. An immediate attack from kick-off would take advantage of a defensive lapse from the home side, as Castro drove down the left. ‘El Maestro’s’ low cross was steered right in the path of Adam Taggart, who made no mistake from 6 metres out from goal, striking a powerful low shot under the body of Hall.

Castro then capped off Glory’s goal fest in the 88th minute. Aryn Williams made a barnstorming run down the right wing, delivering a low cross to Castro on the 6-yard-box, where the 34-year-old made no mistake to flick his shot past a helpless Hall.

The 5-0 final result was a welcome result for Glory, winning its first match in Adelaide in over 1000 days and restoring the team’s goal difference to positivity (+1, 36 goals scored and 35 conceded).

The win was also the biggest against the Reds in Hyundai A-League history and equalled the 5-0 win over Adelaide dating back to the last season of the NSL. (National Soccer League)

Next, the boys from the West face Brisbane Roar at 7:00pm at home on Saturday, 18th February. Make sure you’re at the game and purchase your tickets here

Key Moments

First Half:

13’ Rostyn Griffiths forces a brilliant save out of Hall, his top corner header tipped away with a two-handed diving save.
15’ Glory score, 1-0. La Rocca miscues his headed clearance into his own goal from Harold’s floated cross.
20’ McGowan heads from close range onto the top of the net.
37’ Castro scores, 2-0. The Spaniard receives the ball in the box, cuts inside of his defender and slams a shot across Hall into the far bottom corner.
39’ Risdon cuts back for Taggart, he slams his shot over Hall’s crossbar.
40’ Carrusca’s placed shot just inside the box hits the inside of the post.
45+1’ Keogh scores, 3-0. The Irishman is put through by a smart pass by Castro, he curves his shot around a diving Hall into the far bottom corner to make it three.

Second Half

46’ Taggart scores, 4-0. From kick-off, Glory take advantage of Adelaide’s defensive lapse as Castro’s cross is steered to Taggart by McGowan, the Australian striker powering his shot under Hall.
65’ Taggart tries a low curled shot from distance, it flashes just wide of Hall’s far post.
69’ Mileusnic goes one-on-one with Liam Reddy, the Glory ‘keeper parries away the shot strongly.
78’ Castro tees up Aryn Williams, his shot dribbles past Hall’s far post.
88’ Castro scores again, Glory up 5-0. Aryn Williams drives into the box and delivers a low cross along the 6-yard-box, Castro making no mistake from close range.
90+1’ Chianese finds Taggart, his strong shot is saved by the outstretched leg of Hall.
90+3’ Taggart goes one-on-one with Hall, but the Adelaide ‘keeper reads the shot and saved well.
90+5’ Chianese rounds Hall 30 metres out from goal, his chipped shot lands on top of the Reds’ net.

Adelaide United 0
Perth Glory 5 (La Rocca OG 15’, Castro 37’, 88’, Keogh 45+1’, Taggart 46’)
Round 19 at Coopers Stadium

Referee: Chris Beath
Assistants: Matthew Cream & Paul Cetrangolo
Fourth Official: Daniel Elder


Adelaide United:  20. John HALL (GK), 3. Iacopo LA ROCCA (5. Taylor REGAN 34’), 4. Dylan MCGOWAN, 10. Marcelo CARRUSCA (C – 16. Jesse MAKAROUNAS 75’), 11. Sergio CIRIO, 12. Mark OCHIENG (17. Nikola MILEUSNIC 59’), 14. George MELLS, 18. Riley MCGREE, 19. Benjamin GARRUCIO, 21. Tarek ELRICH, 24. Jordan O’DOHERTY

Subs: 13. Marc MARINO, 30. Daniel MARGUSH (GK)

Yellow Cards: Riley MCGREE 42’
Red Cards: nil

Coach: Guillermo Amor


Perth Glory FC: 33. Liam REDDY (GK), 5. Rhys WILLIAMS, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS (C), 9. Andy KEOGH (10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC 60’), 14. Chris HAROLD (7. Joel CHIANESE 68’), 15. Brandon WILSON, 16. Joseph MILLS (20. Aryn WILLIAMS 54’), 17. Diego CASTRO, 19. Josh RISDON, 22. Adam TAGGART

Subs: 13. Nicholas FEELY (GK), 24. Milan SMILJANIC

Yellow Cards: Rhys WILLIAMS 17’, Brandon WILSON 43’
Red Cards: nil

Coach: Kenny Lowe