FFA CUP | Five days to go


Perth Glory’s quest of reaching its third straight FFA Cup final begins in less than a week when it takes on Brisbane Roar in the Round of 32 clash.

A fierce rivalry has developed between both sides, ever since Roar defeated Perth in controversial circumstances in the 2012 Hyundai A-League Grand Final.

Brisbane was awarded a dubious penalty after Liam Miller was deemed to have fouled Besart Berisha in the dying moments of extra time, in which Berisha converted to seal the Championship.

A new look Perth Glory side, which features fourteen home-grown players, including the return of Socceroos Adam Taggart and Rhys Williams and favourite sons Josh Risdon and Rostyn Griffiths will be looking to progress to the Round of 16 against a quality side.

Despite losing Roar favourites in Brazilian maestro Henrique and veteran Shane Stefanutto (retiring), as well as Spanish import Corona, the former champions are still armed with the likes of two-time Johnny Warren Medallist Thomas Broich and Socceroos Tommy Oar, Jade North and Matt McKay.

There could also be some sibling rivalry which may pit Glory young gun Kostas Petratos against his older brother Dimitri.

The three-time A-League Champions also have ex-Glory striker Jamie Maclaren on their books who had a stellar campaign last season scoring 18 goals, finishing second in the race for the Hyundai A-League Golden Boot.

The last fixture between the two sides resulted in a nine-goal thriller at nib Stadium, with the Glory running out convincing 6-3 winners, as they made it five wins on the trot.

The Westfield FFA Cup match will kick-off next Wednesday August 10 at Ballymore Stadium at 5.30 WST.

Western Australian viewers and fans can see all the FFA Cup action by streaming online HERE:  http://www.foxsports.com.au/football/ffa-cup/ffacupondemand