The magic of the FFA Cup rang true last night with the first real upset of the Round of 32 matches as South Australian National Premier League side, Adelaide City, knocked out last season’s Hyundai A-League runners up, Western Sydney Wanderers in a thriller at a packed Marden Sports Complex.

The Adelaide team, coached by former Perth Glory legend, Damian Mori, achieved history by becoming the first ever State League club to defeat an Hyundai A-League team in the new nationwide cup competition, winning 1-0. Given Western Sydney Wanderers record of success in the A-League, Adelaide City’s victory last night stands out as one of the major footballing surprises of the Westfield FFA Cup to date.

In another of last night’s ties, Sydney FC joined Perth Glory in the round of 16 draw by beating newly rebranded Melbourne City 3-1 after extra time in the all A-League clash.  There were also wins for Victorian National Premier League team, Bentleigh Greens, and Sydney United 58 FC from the New South Wales National Premier League.

With just four more ties to be contested before the Round of 16 draw on 22 August, West Australian and Perth Glory fans will be hoping for more upsets as two local National Premier League sides take on A-League teams next week.

First up on Tuesday night at the WA Athletics Stadium, will be Stirling Lions, who will be looking to take the roar out of a Brisbane team that ended last season as Hyundai A-League Champions. Just 24 hours later reigning WA Champions, Bayswater City will take on the might of Melbourne Victory at the same venue. Bayswater, who are coached by former Perth Glory player, Chris Coyne, will take heart from Adelaide City’s achievements last night and will be looking to carve out a bit of history of their own.

Perth Glory fans will be eagerly following the results on Tuesday and Wednesday night, as they wait to see who will be joining Kenny Lowe’s team in the draw for the Round of 16 of the FFA Cup. 

The Round of 16 draw, which will be shown exclusively live on Fox Sports News, will take place on Friday 22 August at 10.00am WST. Perth Glory fans and local media are invited to join the team and management and representatives from FFA at the UWA Clubrooms at McGillivary Oval for the live draw. 


Stirling Lions FC v Brisbane Roar

Tuesday 19th August
WA Athletics Stadium
KO: 7.30pm

Bayswater City SC v Melbourne Victory

Wednesday 20th August
WA Athletics Stadium
KO: 7.30pm