Eight players commit futures to Glory

Perth Glory is delighted to confirm that David Williams, Trent Ostler, Kaelan Majekodunmi, Jarrod Carluccio and Riley Warland will all be part of Glory’s 2024/25 Isuzu UTE A-League squad after signing contract extensions with the club.

In addition, highly-rated teenage duo Andriano Lebib and Khoa Ngo, both of whom made their A-League debuts last season, have moved from youth development agreements to scholarship contracts and another exciting young prospect, Jaylan Pearman, has had his scholarship contract extended. Glory Football Director Stan Lazaridis is thrilled that the eight players have committed their futures to the club.

“Our new-look squad is really starting to take shape and these guys will form a key part of it,” he said.

“They’re all extremely motivated to make a major contribution on and off the pitch and help drive the club forward.”

Stan on David Williams: “Technically, he’s one of the most gifted players that the A-League has seen and for us next season, he’s going to be that impact player.

“He may start some games, he may not, but he’s going to be one of those players that makes 15 or 20 appearances over the course of the year and we know he’ll make an impact in all of them because of the quality and experience he has.

“Willo is up for it.

“His energy around the playing group is infectious, he gives so much to the club and to the game in general and we really need these kinds of characters around at Perth Glory, so re-signing him for another year was an absolute no-brainer.”

Stan on Jarrod Carluccio and Trent Ostler: “Trent and Jarrod are similar in the sense that they are players who can fill a number of different roles.

“I love Jarrod’s attitude and energy and fitness-wise, he’s right up there.

“Trent has an engine and pace too, which enables him to get up and down and next year could be a breakout season for both him and Jarrod.

“They’re both really invested in the club and are an important part of our plans for the upcoming campaign.”

Stan on Kaelan Majekodunmi: “We saw with Kaelan that he got blooded in last year.

“He’s probably ready to establish himself as a regular starter next season, but he has work to do on improving his game.

“There’s a lot to love about Maj; aerially, he’s incredibly strong and powerful, he’s quick and although we need to improve his footwork, overall he’s a machine and we’re really excited that he’s staying on.”

Stan on Riley Warland: “To be fair to Riley, he played the majority of last season with a hip injury and yet he kept putting his hand up to play and he deserves great credit for that.

“He needs to improve his final ball and we will work with him on that, but he’s a very gifted player and he’ll be battling it out for that starting left-back spot.”

Stan on Jaylan Pearman: “Jaylan has always had huge potential and this year he has taken his game to another level.

“He’s now developing a level of physicality to go with his top-class technical ability and has a very bright future ahead of him.”

Stan on Andriano Lebib: “He’s an up-and-coming centre-half who will definitely benefit from training and playing alongside some of the other defenders that we’re bringing in.

“As a local lad who came through the Academy pathway, I believe he’s one of those players that the Members and fans will really get behind once he’s been given an opportunity.

“He’s definitely a very exciting prospect for us and I’m sure he will develop into a quality defender.”

Stan on Khoa Ngo: “Khoa is someone who will puts bums on seats.

“He’s a little excitement machine, he’s very likeable as a character, he’s brave and strong and he’s not afraid to take players on.

“He can play on either wing or up front off a striker and is definitely someone who is going to excite the Members and fans.

“Khoa is another one who came through our Academy, we’re delighted he’s signed and we expect him to see some game-time this season.”

The following players are now under contract for 2024/25: Oli Sail, Cameron Cook, Robbie Cook, Josh Risdon, Riley Warland, Kaelan Majekodunmi, Andriano Lebib, Jacob Muir, Luke Bodnar, Jarrod Carluccio, Trent Ostler, Mustafa Amini, Brandon O’Neill, Jaylan Pearman, Khoa Ngo, Adam Zimarino, Adam Taggart, David Williams.

Contract negotiations are ongoing with a number of other first-team squad members and further announcements will be made shortly, along with details of new player signings.