Djulbic double roars Glory into Round of 16


Two goals in seven minutes from towering Perth Glory defender Dino Djulbic has helped the West Australians defeat Brisbane Roar at Ballymore Stadium 2-0 in the RD of 32 in the FFA Cup and advance to the next phase against Sydney FC.

Djulbic bagged a brace off two well weighted set-pieces by Nebojsa Marinkovic, as Glory displayed a rock solid defensive performance throughout the match.  

The opening five minutes was a cagey affair with possession frequently changing hands. The first chance of the match fell to former Glory striker Jamie Maclaren, with his header falling wide of new Glory goalkeeper Liam Reddy’s goal after a smart cross from Dimitri Petratos.

Glory took the lead at the 13th minute thanks to the head of Djulbic. A signature set-piece from Nebojsa Marinkovic allowed the centre back to tower over the Roar defence and slam a close-range header home to put Perth 1-0 ahead. 

Glory and Djulbic doubled their goal-tally for the night on 20 minutes, with the goal again coming from an inch perfect Marinkovic set-piece. The midfielder’s corner was met by a flurry of bodies in the crowded 18-yard-box with the ball eventually falling at the feet of the big defender. Djulbic made no mistake from six yards to steer home a smart finish past Roar custodian Michael Theo. 

Perth looked dangerous throughout the rest of the opening half, with the newly re-signed Rostyn Giffiths dictating play from central midfield. 

The second-half saw the match open up nicely for both sides, with chances coming at both ends early on. 

Despite the injection of Brisbane playmaker Thomas Broich to the fray, Kenny Lowe’s men were able to hold firm and secure a well-earned 2-0 victory and advance to the round of 16. 

Glory will face Sydney FC in the next round in Perth at a date and venue to be announced in the coming days.

Key Moments: 

First Half 
13’ Djulbic converts a powerful header following an expert set-piece cross from Marinkovic. 
20’ Djulbic doubles Glory’s lead with a well-taken finish following a Marinkovic corner. 
24’ Jamie Maclaren shot from outside the box is blocked away by Marc Warren. 
33’ Corey Brown receives the games first booking following a professional foul with Glory threatening to breakaway. 
36’ Marinkovic set-piece finds Chris Harold, whose header flies over the Brisbane goal for a goal-kick. 
37’ Alex Grant’s strong challenge sees the defender enter the book with a yellow-card. 
37’ Following a heated exchange involving numerous players from both sides, Daniel Bowles also received a caution. 
40’ Tommy Oar gifted a great chance in front of goal from ten yards, but the Socceroo scuffs his shot into the Glory defence. 
43’ Matt McKay is the fourth player in the book following a stray elbow to the face of Chris Harold. 
Second Half: 
53’ Joe Knowles is put through on goal, but his run is halted by a well-timed challenge from Daniel Bowles. 
60’ Petratos makes way for Broich, who made an immediate impact, as his tidy touch almost put Maclaren through on goal. 
65’ A dangerous cross from Borello is cleared away from danger by Djulbic. 
69’ R. Williams substituted off for young midfielder Brandon Wilson who makes his debut for the club. 
79’ Marinkovic shoots from the edge of the area, with his curling strike smacking the upper side of the crossbar. 
81’ Broich slides a low cross to Maclaren right in front of goal, but he puts it wide. 
89’ Harold makes way for Richard Garcia. 
90+2’ Oar curls one from distance, but it’s well wide of Reddy’s goal.

Yellow Cards: Harold 29’, Brown 33’, Grant 37’, Bowles 37’, McKay 43’ 

Red Cards: nil 

Brisbane Roar: 1. Michael THEO, 4. Daniel BOWLES, 5. Corey BROWN, 8. Jacob PEPPER (39. Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS 55’), 9. Jamie MACLAREN, 11. Tommy OAR, 13. Jade NORTH, 17. Matt MCKAY (C), 19. Jack HINGERT, 23. Dimitri PETRATOS (22. Thomas BROICH 60’), 28. Brandon BORRELLO.  
Subs: 21. Jamie YOUNG, 25. Kye ROWLES, 40. Joey CHAMPNESS 
Perth Glory FC: 2. Alex GRANT, 3. Marc WARREN, 5. Rhys WILLIAMS (15. Brandon WILSON 68’), 6. Dino DJULBIC, 8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 9. Andy KEOGH, 10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 14. Chris HAROLD (11. Richard GARCIA 89’), 19. Joshua RISDON, 28. Joe KNOWLES (20. Jamal REINERS 62’), 33. Liam REDDY 
Unused Subs: 1. Nick FEELY, 29. Aryn WILLIAMS