Cook serves up a double as Glory down State Team


Liana Cook struck twice and Jacynta Galabadaarachchi also found the net on debut as Glory downed the Goldfields WA Women 3-1 in Saturday’s friendly clash at Coker Park.

Bobby Despotovski’s youthful side dominated for long periods of what was an entertaining game played out in front of a crowd of around 500 and rarely looked like being reeled in once Cook opened the scoring after 14 minutes.

Galabadaarachchi’s fine lob duly doubled Glory’s lead and although the State Team hit back through Tia Stonehill’s’s penalty just before the break, a thumping header from Cook on the hour-mark effectively sealed the win.

There was plenty to like about the performance from the women in purple, including a solid debut in goal from new recruit Eliza Campbell and some wonderful attacking play from the livewire Galabadaarachchi which suggested that she will cause Westfield W-League defences all sorts of problems in the coming season.

Jacynta G v State Team

Cook, meanwhile, took both of her chances well, Shannon May was tireless in midfield and Sarah Carroll acquitted herself superbly having been moved into the heart of the defence.

Little wonder, then, that Despotovski was more than happy with what was his side’s first pre-season hit-out.

“We controlled the game from the start,”he said, “and that was especially pleasing given that we had so many young players in the squad and none of our internationals.

“Eliza [Campbell] gave us good stability at the back and Jacynta is a very unpredictable and very skilful player. With a bit more fitness that we can give her, she’s definitely going to be one for the future.”

Eliza Campbell v State Team

Glory’s W-League campaign begins on Sunday 28 October when they face Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium.

Match Details

Goldfields WA Women 1 (Stonehill (pen) 43′) Perth Glory 3 (Cook 14′, 60′, Galabadaarachchi 40′)

Half-time: 1-2

Goldfield WA Women: 1.Dal Busco, 2.Ireland, 3.Gale, 5.Bennett, 6.Wise-Jarvis, 7.Astorp, 8.Crawley, 9.Jukic, 11.Nadilo, 12.Stonehill, 15,McMurdo

Substitutes: 4.Panaia, 13.Baker, 14.Organ, 16.Cavill, 17.Lowry

Perth Glory: 1.Campbell (Aquino 46′), 2.Sarah Carroll, 3.Kim Carroll, 4.Rigby (Henry 46′), 5.May (McKenna 67′), 6.Meakins, 7.Moreno, 10.Galabadaarachchi, 14.Doeglas, 17.Cook, 18.Foletta (Lehane 51′)

Substitutes not used: Connolly, Michell, Hoy


Galabadaarachchi photo courtesy of Tom McCarthy