Champions prove too strong for Perth

Perth Glory has been overrun by Westfield W-League frontrunners Sydney FC after a strong second half performance saw the reigning Champions win 2-0 at Wollongong’s WIN Stadium.

Perth Glory has been overrun by Westfield W-League frontrunners Sydney FC after a strong second half performance saw the reigning Champions win 2-0 at Wollongong-s WIN Stadium.

Leena Khamis got the ball rolling for the Sky Blues with the opener just 10 minutes after the break and then fellow Westfield Matildas striker Kyah Simon wrapped up the match with less than 20 minutes to go with her team-s second.

Sydney FC dominated the second half with plenty of possession despite an even first half which began promising for the Glory.

US import Alex Singer was lively down the right for the visitors, but couldn-t find a teammate in the box after delivering dangerous crosses in the final third.

Most Glorious Player Shannon May registered the first shot of the game, but couldn-t find the target as she saw her effort travel high and wide.

The in-form Tine Cederkvist was at it again for Perth by pulling off some strong saves to deny Kylie Ledbrook and Simon in the first half.

ANZ Junior Sports Star finalist Sam Kerr was in the thick of things for the Glory, and after the striker found Singer on the right, her cross to Kate Gill was perfect but the resulting header went over the upright.

Kerr then had a late chance to snatch a goal on half time but after beating three players, she fired her shot wide from the edge of the area.

Sydney began to assert their dominance in the second half and Khamis- looping header was too good for Cederkvist to keep out and gave the Champions a 1-0 lead.

The home side could have had a second just moments later through Simon, but Perth captain Tanya Oxtoby-s diving block saved a certain goal.

Simon-s tap-in late in the match ensured a 2-0 victory for the home side and keeps them just one point behind Brisbane Roar on the Westfield W-League table.

Despite the loss, Perth still remains in the finals hunt and will take on Melbourne Victory at AAMI Park next Saturday.

Sydney FC 2 (Leena KHAMIS 55-, Kyah SIMON 71-)
Perth Glory 0
Saturday, 11 December WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Local kick-off: 3.00pm
Referee: Sachiko Yamagashi

Assistant referees: Katie Paterson and Melinda Bell

Fourth official: Fusako Kajiyama

Sydney FC: 1. Dimi POULOS (gk), 2. Teresa POLIAS, 3. Danielle BROGAN, 6. Servet UZUNLAR, 8. Renee ROLLASON (13. Catherine CANNULI 60-), 9. Caitlin FOORD, 10. Kylie LEDBROOK, 11. Lydia VANDENBERGH, 15. Teigen ALLEN, 17. Kyah SIMON, 19. Leena KHAMIS

Substitutes not used: 20. Erin HERD (gk), 5. Alanna KENNEDY, 14. Nicola BOLGER

Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Perth Glory: 1. Tine CEDERKVIST (gk), 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Samantha KERR (16. Sadie LAWRENCE 90+2-), 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Alexandra SINGER, 7. Alexandra NILSSON, 8. Tanya OXTOBY (c), 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO (2. Stacey LEARMONT 84-), 14. Collette McCALLUM, 15. Jaymee GIBBONS

Substitutes not used: 20. Kathleen WAYCOTT (gk), 17. Marianna Tabain

Yellow cards: Elisa D-OVIDIO 66-

Red cards: Nil