Castro and Kerr scoop Most Glorious Player Awards


Diego Castro and Sam Kerr have taken out the headline awards at the club’s 2018/2019 QBE Most Glorious Player Awards.

The Glory glitterati were out in force at the sparkling ceremony held at the Crown Towers Ballroom and they saw Castro claim his third Hyundai A-League MGP in the last four years, while Kerr retained the Westfield W-League award for a third straight season to take her overall tally to four.

The respective skippers starred throughout the 2018/19 campaign, with Castro scoring seven times and claiming the Fox Sports’ Alex Tobin Medal as a key component in Tony Popovic’s Premiership-winning team and Kerr securing the Westfield W-League Golden Boot with 17 goals as she led her side all the way to the Grand Final.

Sam Kerr - MGP 2019

The Matildas striker was also named Women’s Players’ Player of the Year and took home the Women’s Golden Boot.

Neil Kilkenny was another multiple award-winner on the night as he scooped the Members’ Player of the Year and his spectacular, curling effort against Newcastle Jets in Round 16 was named Goal of the Year.

Kilkenny’s midfield partner, Juande, meanwhile, marked his debut season with the club by claiming the Men’s Players’ Player of the Year Award and striker Andy Keogh walked away with the Bobby Despotovski Golden Boot after finding the net 15 times during the regular season.

Exciting midfield prospect Henry Hore was named Foxtel Y-League Most Glorious Youth Player and the Chairman’s Award went to the club’s General Manager of Membership, Ticketing and Operations, Joseph Marafioti.

W-League midfielder Shannon May was also honoured for her ten years of sterling service and a number of the club’s invaluable volunteers were acknowledged, including Nori Zimarino, Derek Churchill and George Cormack.

List of Winners:

Hyundai A-League Most Glorious Player Award: Diego Castro

Westfield W-League Most Glorious Player Award: Sam Kerr

Foxtel Y-League Most Glorious Youth Player: Henry Hore

Men’s Players’ Player of the Year: Juande

Women’s Players’ Player of the Year: Sam Kerr

Members’ Player of the Year: Neil Kilkenny

Bobby Despotovski Golden Boot Winner: Andy Keogh

Women’s Golden Boot Winner: Sam Kerr

Men’s Goal of the Year Winner: Neil Kilkenny (v Newcastle Jets in Round 16)

Chairman’s Award Winner: Joseph Marafioti

#OneMission #OneGlory