Castro and Kerr named Glory’s best


For the second consecutive year, Spanish sensation Diego Castro has been voted Perth Glory’s “QBE Most Glorious Player” (MGP) at a lavish award ceremony at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre tonight.

  1. Home grown Matilda, Samantha Kerr, also took out the club’s highest honour after a stellar season with Perth Glory Women where she helped steer the team to its first Grand Final in three seasons.

Her MGP award comes only 12 days after being awarded the Julie Dolan medal for being the best player in the Westfield W-League.

Castro was the runaway leader after round 16, polling a total of 44 votes, leaving his closest rival Josh Risdon well behind on 21. Andy Keogh and captain Rostyn Griffiths tied for third spot.

Castro equalled a club record breaking tally of five individual trophies he set last year, including:

• QBE Most Glorious Player 
• Golden Boot Trophy (joint with Adam Taggart and Andy Keogh 12-goals)
• Players’ Player of the Year 
• Volunteers’ Player of the Year 
• Member’s Player of the Year

The 34-year old El Maestro was also named in Perth Glory’s Ultimate XI team which celebrated the club’s best players in its 20th anniversary season.

To cap off a spectacular night club chairman Tony Sage confirmed the Spanish marvel would re-join the club next season, as Glory aimed to go one step closer to winning a Hyundai A-League trophy and its first silverware in the A-League era.

“To win the MGP once is amazing and to go back to back is unbelievable” Castro said.
“I share this honour with my teammates and coaches, staff and members because it is they who come and support me and the team week-in week-out”.

“The last two seasons in Perth has been a beautiful experience for my family and me and hopefully next year we can go all the way and grab the ultimate prize” he said.

Meanwhile 23-year old Kerr was also named the Golden Boot winner for the Women’s team after her 10-goal season haul.

Women’s coach Bobby Despotovski announced on the night that Kerr would also be re-joining the team next year in a bid to go one step further and win the championship.

Margaret River raised Natasha Rigby, was awarded the Coaches Award for best rising talent.

Kerr and Rigby were overseas but sent their well wishes and thanks via a pre-recorded message on the night.

Youngster Joe Knowles, who signed a senior contract with the club for next season, was named MGP for the National Youth League team.

“It’s a massive honour to be named MGP” the 20-year old striker said.

“I’ve always been proud to play for Perth Glory and today this is a very proud moment in my life” he added.

Dead ball specialist Nebojsa Marinkovic took out the trophy for “Goal of the Year” for his stunning free-kick against Melbourne City in the last round of the season, while recently retired and former captain Richard Garcia was named as “Best Clubman”.

Players from the A-League team and W-League team are now on leave with pre-season due to start for the A-League team in July and W-League team in September.



  • QBE Most Glorious Player: Diego Castro
  • Women’s Most Glorious Player: Samantha Kerr
  • Most Glorious Youth League Player (NYL): Joe Knowles
  • Bobby Despotovski Golden Boot: Diego Castro, Adam Taggart and Andy Keogh (12 goals)
  • Women’s Golden Boot: Samantha Kerr (10 goals)
  • Members’ Player of the Year: Diego Castro
  • Volunteers’ Player of the Year: Diego Castro
  • Players’ Player of the Year: Diego Castro
  • Goal-of-the-Year: Nebojsa Marinkovic
  • Women’s Coach’s Award: Natasha Rigby
  • Best Clubman Award: Richard Garcia

Perth Glory Ultimate XI- 1996/97-2016/17

  • Goalkeeper: Jason Petkovic
  • Defenders: Josh Risdon, Jamie Harnwell (c), Andy Todd, Scott Miller
  • Midfielders: Jacob Burns, Gareth Naven, Diego Castro, Ivan Ergic
  • Strikers: Bobby Despotovski, Damian Mori
  • Coach: Mich D’Avray
  • Substitutes: Danny Vukovic, Michael Thwaite, Matt Horsley, Troy Halpin, Andy Keogh,