Aiming for more Glory in Season 11


Perth Glory’s new international signings have travelled to Gosford on the eve of the team’s opening clash against the Central Coast Mariners.

Dutch striker Guyon Fernandez, Spanish winger Diego Castro and Hungarian Gyorgy Sandor have been included in the 16-man squad as they prepare for their first Hyundai A-League encounter.

The trio featured prominently in the recent Westfield FFA Cup quarter-final win over Western Sydney and coach Kenny Lowe expects his ‘foreign boys’ will shine as the season progresses.

“All the foreign boys are good players. Juri (Sandor) was captain of his club and won championships and played for his country. Castro was 15 years at La Liga rubbing shoulders with the big boys; I mean it doesn’t come any tougher than that”.

“Guyon has played at the top in the Dutch League, won cups scored goals against good teams played for good teams, our foreign boys, hopefully if they can settle and they enjoy the environment and their families have settled in, they’ll do well for us” he said.

It will also be the first Hyundai A-League match in Glory colours for new recruits and Asian Champions League medal winners Antony Golec and Ante Covic.

The match kicks-off at 17.15 (14.15 AWST) tomorrow at Central Coast Stadium and will be broadcast on Fox Sports 505.


  • Perth Glory has won three and drawn one of its last four encounters against the Central Coast Mariners
  • Josh Risdon made 115tackles in the A-League last season; 22 more than any other player
  • Perth Glory scored a league high 11 headed goals last season


Match Details

Saturday, 10 October 2015
Central Coast Mariners v Perth Glory
Central Coast Stadium, Gosford
Kick-Off: 5:15 PM (Local) (5:15 PM (AEDT)
Referee: Strebre Delovski
Assistant Referee 1: Lance Greenshields
Assistant Referee 2: Andrej Giev
Fourth Official: Luke Withell

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 5.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 2 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: 92.5 ABC Central Coast, 720 ABC Perth & ABC Local Radio WA, Grandstand Digital Perth & Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live. Coast FM 96.3 (Gosford)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #CCMvPER

Perth Glory travelling squad: 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 3.Marc WARREN, 5.Antony GOLEC, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Gyorgy SANDOR, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA (c), 12.Jerrad TYSON (gk), 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Hagi GLIGOR, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA, 17.Diego CASTRO, 18.Mitch OXBORROW, 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Guyon FERNANDEZ, 23.Michael THWAITE