Adelaide see red as Perth takes the Glory


Two second half goals from Andy Keogh saw Glory record its 100th Hyundai A-League victory with a 3-1 win over reigning champions Adelaide United.

Two goals in three minutes halfway through the first half proved to set the tone in an entertaining encounter in front of 10,011 at nib Stadium.

The reigning champions drew first blood thanks to a gift from Josh Risdon who turned in Tarek Elrich’s low driven cross into his own net.

Adelaide’s lead lasted just three minutes, after Glory captain Rostyn Griffiths restored parity with a lethal strike from outside the box.

The skipper’s thunderbolt passed Eugene Galekovic into the bottom left corner and vividly lifted the side, with Diego Castro orchestrating a series of chances following the leveller.

It was a cagey opening to the second half, with very little clear cut chances created.

But it was Nebo Marinkovic, the set-piece specialist, at it again to help Glory grab the lead, as his free-kick proved too much for Galekovic and Keogh was able to poke home into an empty net at the 67th-minute mark to make it 2-1.

It proved a fiery second term, characterised by Jordan O’Doherty’s studs-up challenge on Chris Harold, which resulted in the winger receiving his marching orders following a second yellow.

Adelaide coach Guillermo Amor was also sent to the stands after a disagreement with the fourth official.

Adelaide fought gallantly with 10-men, but the numerical disadvantage proved too much, with Marinkovic grabbing his second assist of the game, as his cross on the counter-attack saw Keogh notch his second goal with a powerful header to extend the lead to 3-1 in the last play of the game.

The timely three points extends Glory’s undefeated run at nib Stadium to 10 matches, while the boys from the West move up to third momentarily, with Brisbane and Victory still to play.

Perth will be looking to build on the crucial win mid-week away to the Central Coast Mariners on Thursday the 24th of November.


Rostyn Griffiths


0-1 Adelaide: Josh Risdon (OG), 22’

It was a case of the wrong spot at the wrong time for the Socceroos defender. Isaias was able to weave through the midfield and play Elrich down the right-hand-side, who was able to whip in a perfect low cross and ultimately see Risdon knock the ball in at the back post.

1-1 Perth: Rostyn Griffiths, 25’

The Glory skipper provided the perfect response just three minutes following Adelaide’s opener. After some tidy work from defender Alex Grant down the left-hand-side, Griffiths picked the ball up from just outside the area and made no mistake as he rifled his strike into the bottom-left-corner.

2-1 Perth: Andy Keogh, 67′

Another goal from a set-piece for Perth, with Marinkovic’s cross into a dangerous area allowing Griffiths to get up and nod the ball out of Galekovic’s grasp and into the path of Keogh, who happily scored into an empty net.

Adelaide: Jordan O’Doherty, 71′, Second Yellow & Red Card

The winger’s lunging tackle on Harold saw the number 24 pick up his second yellow of the match with his side searching for a leveller.

3-1 Perth: Andy Keogh, 90+4′

Adelaide’s search for an equaliser was not to be following their string of corners, as the breakaway counter-attack saw Marinkovic play a pin-point cross Keogh who dispatched the header past an out-stretched Galekovic.


Glory’s swift response to Risdon’s own goal was crucial and proved the catalyst for an inspired fightback in a big display from the captain.


Perth Glory 3  (Griffiths 25′, Keogh 67′ & 90+4′)
Adelaide United 1  (Own Goal Risdon 22′)

Round 7, nib Stadium
Attendance: 10,011

Referee: Jared Gillett
Assistant Referees: Josh Mannella & Matthew Southern
Fourth Official: Adam Fielding


Perth Glory FC:  2. Alex GRANT, 5. Rhys WILLIAMS (80′ 4. Shane LOWRY), 8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS (C), 9. Andy Keogh, 10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 14. Chris HAROLD (80′ 22. Adam Taggart), 16. Joseph MILLS, 17. Diego CASTRO, 19. Josh RISDON, 24. Milan SMILJANIC, 33. Liam REDDY (GK)

Unused substitutes: 13. Nick FEELY (GK), 23. Kosta PETRATOS

Yellow cards: Mills 3′, R. Williams 51′, Risdon 86′
Red cards: nil

Adelaide United:  1. Eugene GALEKOVIC (C) (GK), 3. Iacoppo LA ROCCA, 4. Dylan MCGOWAN, 8. ISAIAS, 9. Sergei GUARDIOLA (58′ Nikola MILEUSNIC), 10. Marcelo Carrusca (76′ Riley MCGREE), 19. Benjamin GARUCCIO, 21. Tarek ELRICH, 22. Ryan KITTO, 24. Jordan O’DOHERTY, 25. James HOLLAND

Unused substitutes: 5. Taylor REGAN, 16. Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 20. John HALL 

Yellow cards: Garuccio 15′, O’Doherty 24′ & 71′, Carrusca 38′
Red cards: O’Doherty 71′

#PERvADL #GloryIsOurs