Academy Wrap: Firsts end on a high, 18s and 20s crowned Champions

The PGFC Academy First Team rounded off their 2022 NPL WA campaign with a resounding 4-0 win over Gwelup Croatia, while the Under-18s and Under-20s were both crowned league champions on a memorable day of football at Crazy Domains Stadium.

The Under-18s set the tone for what turned into a goal-laden afternoon as they secured a 4-0 victory first up, with Khoa Ngo (2), James Overy and Harley Zoric all finding the net.

That was followed by an astonishing 5-5 draw for the Under-20s who led 5-2 at the break.

Jaylan Pearman led the way with a hat-trick and Christian Belladonna and Aston Montgomery chipped in with a goal apiece.

After the two younger sides were presented with their league trophies, the First Team took centre stage and turned on the style to extinguish any hopes the visitors had of avoiding relegation.

Daniel Bennie bagged the opener ten minutes before the break, meeting a Joel Anasmo cross at the far post and firing past Cyril Sharrock in the Gwelup goal.

And two further goals in the opening six minutes of the second half then effectively sealed the contest in Glory’s favour.

Kaelan Majeks bundled in a corner to make it 2-0 and after showing great persistence to force a defensive error, Ciaran Bramwell curled home number three.

Bramwell then claimed his second and Glory’s fourth from the penalty spot following Sharrock’s stoppage-time foul on substitute Josh Anasmo.

That marked the final action of the season for the First Team, but the Under-18s and Under-20s will now look to secure more silverware in the form of the Top Four Cup.

Details of their fixtures will be made available shortly.

Many thanks to all our Members and fans who have supported all three senior Academy teams home and away this season.

Match Details

PGFC Academy First Team 4 (Bennie 35′, Bramwell 55′ 90+4′ (pen), Majeks 52′) Gwelup Croatia 0

Half-time: 1-0

Crazy Domains Stadium at Hartfield Park

Referee: Julian Serra

PGFC Academy First Team: 1.Adrian SINAGRA (GK), 3.Kaelan MAJEKS, 4.Andriano LEBIB, 5.Aiki TSUKAMOTO (2.Aston MONTGOMERY 68′), 6.Chris DONNELL, 7.Daneil BENNIE (9.Josh ANASMO 53′), 8.Lucas ROSSI (15.Jaylan PEARMAN 53′), 10.Ciaran BRAMWELL (C), 11.Joel ANASMO (18.Corey SUTHERLAND 68′), 17.Jayden LEADER (12.Matt GEORGE 28′), 20.Lucas COOK

Substitutes not used: 13.Danny DOUGLAS, 16.Tyler WILKIE

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

Gwelup Croatia: 99.Cyril SHARROCK, 2.Ciaran SALINGER (C), 4.Lachlan COLLINS, 6.Kade FEARNALL, 7.Friday ZICO (13.Loic ANGA 60′), 11.Gomo DUKULY, 15.Jordan POKLER (41.Jason PETRIE 46′), 17.Aidan FORMSTON, 18.Daniel WALSH, 20.Sebastian DE SILVA (38.Noah KANZI 68′), 22.Rene KISESA (8.Adam FLACONE 77′)

Substitutes not used: 21.Theodore SARRIS, 24.Arad GHALANDARMAHALLEH

Yellow Cards: Fearnall, Sharrock, Zico

Red Cards: None

(pictures courtesy of Tom McCarthy)