Academy First Team secure convincing win over Balcatta

NPL 2021 - Glory v Balcatta - Josh Anasmo scores

The PGFC Academy First Team returned to winning ways in style on Saturday evening, downing Balcatta FC 3-0 at Crazy Domains Stadium at Hartfield Park.

The hosts hit the lead early through Adam Zimarino’s angled strike and duly doubled their advantage just short of the half-hour mark when Joshua Anasmo poked home from close-range after the Balcatta defence failed to deal with Josh Rawlins’ ball into the box.

The scoring was then completed six minutes from time as Rawlins’ corner was only half-cleared and Bryce Bafford bent a shot through a crowded box into the bottom corner.

Glory, who dominated throughout, managed seven shots on target and were unfortunate not to win by an even more emphatic margin as Anasmo headed against the post from a metre out and the lively Charlie Leech was foiled by a brave save from Ryan Montgomery in the Balcatta goal.

The victory completed an impressive clean sweep for the senior Academy teams on the day, with the Under-18s winning 4-0 and the Under-20s maintaining their unbeaten campaign and cementing top spot with a similarly comfortable 3-0 victory.

Match Details

PGFC Academy First Team 3 (Zimarino 11′, Anasmo 26′, Bafford 84′)  Balcatta FC 0

Half-time: 2-0

Crazy Domains Stadium at Hartfield Park

Referee: Michal Jasinski

Perth Glory: 30.Cameron COOK (GK), 2.Josh RAWLINS , 3.Jacob MUIR, 4.Mason TATAFU, 6.Nick SULLIVAN (18.Lewis TUCKER 87′), 7.Joseph FORDE, 8.Chris DONNELL (c), 9.Joshua ANASMO (12.Andrew MARANTA 90+3’), 10.Charlie LEECH, 11. Adam ZIMARINO (15.Aiki TSUKAMOTO 87′), 17.Bryce BAFFORD

Substitutes not used: 1.Sam REILLY (GK), 13.Aidan COYNE 

Yellow Cards: None 

Red Cards: None

Balcatta FC: 1.Ryan STEPHENSON, 4.Callum O’CONNELL (c), 5.Hristijan JANKULOSKI, 6.Carmelo GIUFFRE, 8.Jack LEECH, 9.Hamza HINA (12.David PERICH 64′), 10.Jonathan CORNESS, 11.Elliott TATTERSALL (13.Anthony TOPINI 84′), 14.Jackson DONGRAY (21.Cameron MCLEAN 21′), 16.Adam FALCONE, 22.Luke RHODES

Substitutes not used: 17.Matthew ALESSANDRINO, 20.Sebastian MEDICA

Yellow Cards: Dongray, Giuffre, O’Connell, Jankuloski

Red Cards: None

(picture courtesy of Tom McCarthy)