No games found.

Published July 11, 2021 at 17:18:25

Academy First Team extend unbeaten run with Cockburn draw

Article Image Hero

The PGFC Academy First Team remain firmly in contention for a top-four finish in the NPL WA following Saturday’s hard-fought 1-1 draw with Cockburn City at Dalmatinac Park.

Ruben Zadkovich’s side fell behind to an early Jesse Lazzaro goal, but deservedly equalised midway through the second half via Ciaran Bramwell’s close-range finish.

The result extends the youngsters’ unbeaten run to five games and leaves them level on points with fourth-placed Inglewood United.

Glory headed into the game buoyed by impressive back-to-back wins over Floreat Athena and Bayswater City, but found themselves trailing inside the opening six minutes when an indirect free-kick was awarded to City on the six-yard line following a double touch on a goal-kick and having had the ball nudged into his path, Lazzaro rifled it into the net.

Chances then came and went at either end before the visitors restored parity after the break.

Aidan Edwards slipped the ball into the box where Bramwell turned his marker neatly with his first touch and picked out the back of the net with his second.

Referee Matthew Southern, meanwhile, had been kept busy dealing with a number of flashpoints during a decidedly fractious contest and he eventually produced a red card deep into stoppage-time as City’s Julian Teles received his marching orders.

In the day’s other games, the Under-18s and Under-20s both maintained their title challenges by recording respective 3-0 and 3-1 wins.

Match Details

Cockburn City 1 (Lazzaro 6′) Perth Glory 1 (Bramwell 68′)

Half-time: 1-0

Dalmatinac Park

Referee: Matthew Southern

Cockburn City: 1.Luke RADONICH (gk), 3.Daniel DOLS, 4.Euen GRANT (c), 5.Julian TELES, 9.Anthony SKORICH, 11.Harry O’BRIEN, 12.Sebastian DE SILVA, 16.Ali GHOLAMI, 21.Jesse LAZZARO, 22.Daniel ROBINSON, 25.Breckan BAKER

Substitutes: 6.Sam COOK, 7.Ryan PRATT, 14.David DOS SANTOS, 20.Alessandro DE ANDRADE BASTO, 40.Ben RADONICH

Yellow Cards: Lazzaro, Da Silva

Red Cards: Teles

Perth Glory: 30.Cameron COOK (gk), 2.Will FORMSTON, 3.Aidan COYNE, 4.Jacob MUIR, 5.Joseph FORDE, 6.Chris DONNELL, 7.Charlie LEECH, 8.Aidan EDWARDS, 9.Ciaran BRAMWELL, 10.Giordano COLLI (c), 11.Adam ZIMARINO

Substitutes: 1.Casey ROBERTSON, 14.Josh ANASMO, 15.Mason TATAFU, 16.Andrew MARANTA, 17.Daniel BENNIE

Yellow Cards: Coyne, Bramwell

Red Cards: None

(picture courtesy of Tom McCarthy)