Academy First Team edged out by Inglewood

NPL 2021 - Inglewood Utd v Glory - Aidan Coyne

The PGFC Academy First Team missed out on a chance to climb into the top four of the NPL WA after going down 2-1 to Inglewood United at Inglewood Stadium on Saturday.

The youngsters hit the front just after the half-hour mark when Aidan Coyne headed home a Giordano Colli corner, but two goals from Steve Sokol after the break proved enough to secure all three points for the hosts.

The first of Sokol’s goals came via a low shot from just outside the box which clipped the inside of the post on its way into the net, while the second was a penalty which was awarded after Robert Petkov went to ground in the box under pressure from Joseph Forde.

Glory applied plenty of pressure in the latter stages in a desperate search for an equaliser, but despite some frantic moments in the box, the home defence held firm.

The Academy First Team will look to bounce back this coming Saturday when old rivals Perth SC will provide the opposition at Crazy Domains Stadium at Hartfield Park.

It was a busy WA Day long weekend for the Academy Under-18s and Under-20s, meanwhile, with both sides playing in the NPL on Saturday and the Belt Up State League Cup on Monday.

The league fixtures against Inglewood produced a 2-2 draw for the Under-18s and a 3-1 defeat for the Under-20s, while the the respective Cup clashes with Sorrento FC both ended in dramatic circumstances.

The Under-18s finished locked at 0-0 before losing out 3-1 on penalties and the Under-20s also suffered spot-kick heartache, going down 5-4 having drawn 2-2 in regulation time.

Both age groups will also return to NPL action on Saturday against Perth SC, with the 18s getting underway at 11am and the 20s at 1pm ahead of the First Team at 3pm.

Match Details

Inglewood United 2 (Sokol 65′, 72′ (pen)) Perth Glory (Coyne 32′)

Half-time: 0-1

Referee: Joshua Nixon

Inglewood United: 1.Alex Dunn (GK), 2. Alex ISHIDA-LIVINGS, 3.Giovanni KACHAN DE FREITAS SOARES, 5.Thiak KUEL, 6.Andreas THEODOSIADES (11.Egide NGENDAKUMANA 79′), 9.Robert PETKOV, 10.Anthony BAFOBUSHA, 12.Robert DEL BORRELLO, 14.Steve SOKOL, 16.Jamie MURPHY (8.Jason BARRERA 79′), 17.Mark BARNETT

Substitutes not used: 4.Scott BLACKMORE, 15.Roberto SOARES, 22.Josiah GODFREY

Yellow Cards: Del Borrello, Theodosiades

Red Cards: None

Perth Glory: 30.CameronCOOK (GK), 2.Joseph FORDE, 3.Mason TATAFU (7.Aidan EDWARDS 73′), 4.Jacob MUIR, 5.Aidan COYNE, 6.Nick SULLIVAN (16.Jack ANDREWS 58′), 8.Chris DONNELL, 9.Ciaran BRAMWELL (14.Josh ANASMO 61′), 10.Giordano COLLI (c), 11.Adam ZIMARINO, 17.Bryce BAFFORD

Substitutes not used: 1.Sam REILLY (GK), 15.Will FORMSTON

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

(pic courtesy of Tom McCarthy)