Academy First Team downed by Gulls


The PGFC Academy First Team’s trip to Albany ended in defeat as they went down 5-1 to Sorrento FC at Centennial Stadium on Saturday.

The showpiece event of the annual Regional Football Festival got off to a lively start with Jakub Prajza giving the Gulls an early lead and although Alessandro Circati’s header soon had Glory level, Jamie Harnwell’s men proceeded to take the game away.

Skipper Shaun Kilkelly restored Sorrento’s lead with another headed effort, before a quickfire brace from Cameron Teece early in the second half made it 4-1.

Glory were then reduced to ten men when Jack Painter-Andrews received a second yellow card for a tug on Prajza and substitute Zdenek Bezdek completed the scoring with a fine finish ten minutes from time.

Either side of the break, Mason Tatafu was just off-target from close-range and Charlie Leech was denied by a great save from Joel Driscoll, but Richard Garcia’s men were ultimately unable to claw their way back into the contest.

The result sees Glory slip to ninth on the NPL WA ladder, albeit only two points adrift of the top four and they will have an opportunity to bounce back on Saturday when they face old rivals Perth SC at Dorrien Gardens (kick-off at 3pm).

In the meantime, both the Under-18s and Under-20s are in midweek action, hosting Sorrento at 1620 Capital Stadium, Hartfield Park on Tuesday evening, with the games kicking off at 6pm and 8pm respectively.

Match Details

Perth Glory 1 (Circati 22′) Sorrento FC 5 (Prajza 15′, Kilkelly 36′, Teece 52′, 55′, Bezdek 80′)

Half-time: 1-2

Referee: Matthew Southern

Perth Glory: 1.Sam REILLY, 2.Mason TATAFU, 5.Alessandro CIRCATI, 6.Lewis TUCKER (18.Jacob MUIR 72′), 7.Bryce BAFFORD (16.Ciaran BRAMWELL 53′), 8.Tyler VECCHIO (15.Jayden LEADER 46′), 10.Giordano COLLI (C), 11.Charlie LEECH, 13.Nick WALSH (9.Fraser DUNLOP 46′), 17.Jack PAINTER-ANDREWS, 22.Josh RAWLINS

Substitutes not used: 20.Kade WHITE 

Yellow Cards: Painter-Andrews

Red Cards: Painter-Andrews

Sorrento FC: 1.Joel DRISCOLL, 2.Jordan BROWN (15.Ryan MCLAUGHLIN 76′), 3.Tristan COLLI (16.Jaxon TEMATA 72′), 4.Shaun KILKELLY (C), 5.Tim HILL, 6.Clark KELTIE, 7.Alex MORGAN (20.Zdenek BEZDEK 72′), 8.Scott WITSCHGE, 9.Cameron TEECE, 10.Ollie ANNIS (13.Amir AJAN 66′), 11.Jakub PRAJZA

Substitutes not used: 60.Matt GIUDICATTI

Yellow Cards: Brown, Teece

Red Cards: None