3 days to go! Squads announced


Perth Glory coach Ian Ferguson will have a full squad of players to select from for Sunday’s season opening blockbuster against Adelaide United at nib Stadium.

Perth Glory coach Ian Ferguson will have a full squad of players to select from for Sunday-s season opening blockbuster against Adelaide United at nib Stadium.

After 5 months of pre-season training, Ferguson says he-s pleased with the players- commitment and dedication.

“All the players have been super,” Ferguson said.

“It-s been a long road, but that-s been the same for every club and now it-s great to have the first game just three days away.”

But the coach won-t reveal his squad of 15 players until Sunday with two more training sessions to go, tomorrow and behind closed doors on Saturday.

The match on Sunday will be a big occasion for up to 11 players who are in line to make their Perth Glory debuts.

Danny Vukovic, Travis Dodd, Shane Smeltz, Evan Berger, Bas van den Brink, Neil Young, Adam Hughes, Andrezinho, Jesse Makarounas, Liam Miller and Billy Mehmet are all new faces from last season, keen to put Perth Glory back into the finals equation.

For Dodd and Hughes, the match will also be the first time they play their former club, Adelaide.
Dodd captained the Reds for the last four seasons and admits it will be “a weird feeling” on Sunday.

“But you can’t get caught up in all the hype around the game because it detracts from my own personal game.” Dodd said.

“It was a tough decision (to leave Adelaide), I’m not going to lie. But now that I’ve been here for five or six months, my family is settled and I’m here at a great club with a great bunch of players, I couldn’t be happier. Hopefully that reflects in my game.”

Bb>Sunday, 9 October, 2011
nib Stadium, Perth
Local kick-off: 4.30pm

Perth Glory official radio partner 91.3 SportFM

Did you know? The next goal scored by Perth Glory’s new recruit Shane Smeltz will be his 50th in the Hyundai A-League.

Head-to-Head: Played 21 – Perth Glory 5 wins, Adelaide United 10 wins, 3 draws

Perth Glory squad: 1.Danny VUKOVIC, 2.Josh MITCHELL, 3.Bas Van Den BRINK, 4.Billy MEHMET, 6.Chris COYNE, 7.Jacob BURNS, 8.Adam HUGHES, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 10.Liam MILLER, 12.Scott NEVILLE, 13.Travis DODD, 14.Steven Mcgarry, 15.Tommy AMPHLETT, 16.Evan BERGER, 17.Todd HOWARTH, 18.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Neil YOUNG, 21.Mile STERJOVSKI, 22.Adam TAGGART, 27.ANDREZINHO
*six to be omitted*

Travis Dodd (Adelaide United)
Danny Vukovic (Wellington Phoenix)
Evan Berger (Melbourne Victory)
Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United)
Adam Hughes (Adelaide United)
Neil Young (Newcastle Jets)
Bas van den Brink (Busan I-Park, South Korea)
Liam Miller (Hibernian, Scotland)
Andrezinho (Consadole Sapporo, Japan)
Jesse Makarounas (AIS)

Tando Velaphi (Melbourne Victory)
Jamie Coyne (Sydney FC)
Branko Jelic (Released)
Howard Fondyke (Released)
Adriano Pellegrino (Central Coast Mariners)
Brent Griffiths (Wellington Phoenix)
Naum Sekulovski (Released)
Anthony Skorich (Released)
Andrija Jukic (Bogar Raya FC, Indonesia)
Andy Todd (Oldham Athletic, England)
Robbie Fowler (Muangthong United, Thailand)

11.Victor SIKORA (hip – long term injury list)

Adelaide United squad: 1.Eugene GALEKOVIC (Gk), 2.Osama MALIK, 4.Jon Mckain (C), 5.Daniel MULLEN, 6.CASSIO, 7.Zenon CARAVELLA, 8.Evgeniy LEVCHENKO, 9.Sergio VAN DIJK, 10.Dario VIDOSIC, 11.Bruce DJITE, 12.Antony GOLEC, 13.Ricardo DA SILVA, 14.Cameron WATSON, 16.Spase DILEVSKI, 17.Iain RAMSAY, 20.Mark BIRIGHITTI (Gk), 21.Francisco USUCAR, 22.Milan SUSAK, 23.Andy SLORY
*four to be omitted*

Bradley Norton (Youth Team)
Zenon Caravella (Gold Coast United)
Bruce Djite (Gold Coast United)
Spase Dilveski (Universitatea Craiova, Romania)
Dario Vidosic (FC Nurnberg, Germany)
Jon McKain (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia)
Jewgen Lewtsjenko (Willen II, Netherlands)
Milan SUSAK (Minangkabau FC)
Antony Golec (Sydney FC)

Robert Cornthwaite (Chunnam Dragons, South Korea)
Lucas Pantelis (Wellington Phoenix)
Adam Hughes (Perth Glory)
Marcos Flores (Henan Jianye, China)
Paul Reid (Released)
Travis Dodd (Perth Glory)
Francesco Monterosso (MetroStarts, South Australia Super League)
Dario Bodrusic (Released)
Mathew Leckie (Borussia Mochenladbach, Germany)
Joseph Costa (Released)
Iain Fyfe (Busan I-Park, South Korea)

Nigel BOOGAARD (ankle – 4 weeks)